THE AGONIST: ‘A Gentle Disease’ Video Released


“A Gentle Disease”, the new video from Montreal, Quebec, Canada-based melodic death metallers THE AGONIST, can be seen below. The song is taken from the band’s new album, “Eye Of Providence”, which will be released on February 24 in North America (one day earlier internationally) via Century Media. The band’s first CD with singer Vicky Psarakis was recorded at The Grid studio in their hometown with producer Chris Donaldson (CRYPTOPSY). Vicky joined THE AGONIST as the replacement for Alissa White-Gluz, who left the band to focus on her new gig as the frontwoman of ARCH ENEMY.

“Eye Of Providence” track listing:

01. Gates Of Horn And Ivory
02. My Witness, Your Victim
03. Danse Macabre
04. I Endeavor
05. Faceless Messenger
06. Perpetual Notion
07. A Necessary Evil
08. Architects Hallucinate
09. Disconnect Me
10. The Perfect Embodiment
11. A Gentle Disease
12. Follow The Crossed Line
13. As Above, So Below

In a recent interview with Decibel magazine, guitarist Danny Marino stated about the writing process for “Eye Of Providence” compared to those for the band’s previous albums: “It was a whole new experience and the most enjoyable we’ve ever had. There was an air of full collaboration like never before. It was a good balance of group effort and individual composition and understanding that balance. While Vicky [and I] were the main composers, every member composed part of this album and this was the first album where lyrical content was also shared between Vicky, Simon [and I].”

Asked where he thinks THE AGONIST fits in today’s metal scene, Danny said: “I don’t really know exactly. I think it’s cliché to say we can’t be categorized, but I do think that is true of ‘Prisoners’ and ‘Eye Of Providence’. I feel like we have come into our own sound, especially on ‘Eye Of Providence’. I am influenced by artists like Devin Townsend and Mikael Åkerfeldt. Not to say that our music sounds like those bands, per se. But I am inspired by artists with the courage to take a listener to many different places in one album and make it work somehow. That’s what we have been trying to do since our second album. I think with ‘Eye Of Providence’, we were able to find that balance.”

THE AGONIST 2015 is:

Vicky Psarakis – Vocals
Danny Marino – Guitar
Chris Kells – Bass
Simon McKay – Drums
Pascal “Paco” Jobin – Guitar


Source: Blabbermouth