NIHILI LOCUS Have Their After Life Chance With “Lyaeus Nebularum”

Digging up the Italian underground of early 90s it is undeniable that Nihili Locus were amongst the most interesting bands active around that time. This compilation feature thirteen tracks off from their first 3 releases, plus two unrealeased songs: dark and anguished Death/Black enhanced by female vocals, slowed down doomy parts and an overall sense of worriment. Heavy riffages paired with disheartened ones, fierce growling, a good hint of atmospheric and melancholic passages makes this release a documentation of a sombre journey to the dark pit of the unknown.
All tracks has been remastered at The Devil’s Mark Studios in Rome (Destroyer 666, Demonomancy).

Band Biography:

Nihili Locus was born from the ashes of Omicidio, after the release of the first demo tape “Premature Exequie” in 1991. In 1992 Nihili Locus released their first act: a 7″ EP called “Sub Hyerosolyma…” (under the Italian cult label Obscure Plasma), limited to 1000 copies. The second issue in 1994, was called “…Advesperascit…;” a promo tape in which was developed a more personal and evolved style, melting melodic and atmospheric moments with the evil feelings of the old school Death Black and Doom Metal.
After the cassette, musical style evolved further till the release of “… Ad Nihilim Recidunt Omnia” MCD, in 1996. With that last work the sound was mature: dark atmospheres enhanced the doomish death black feelings that were at the musical roots of the band. Preparing for a full lenght, something was recorded as reharshal tape, but it was never issued because the band split up in 1997.
This collection contains everything was done in those years. Also a short view with 2 unreleased tracks, of what it would had happen in the future, but it never was.

Band Discography:

1992 – ‘Sub Hyerosolyma’ 7″EP (Obscure Plasma)
1994 – ‘…Advesperascit…” DEMO – TAPE (self-released)
1996 – ‘…Ad Nihilum Recidunt Omnia’ MCD (Boundless Records)
2010 – ‘Mors’ unreleased album


Bruno Blasi – vocals
Valeria De Benedictis – guitars, keyboards, vocals
Mauro Veronese – guitars, vocals
Massimo Currò – bass
Roberto Ripollino – drums, vocals
Simone Fanciotto – keyboards

Track Listing:

1. Memoriam Tenere
2. Silvara
3. Memoriam Tenere (Rigor Mortis)
4. Ancient Beliefs Forgotten
5. Deathly Silence Nebulae
6. Gloomy Theatre of Ruins
7. Canto (of a Nightly Jewel)
8. Dance of the Crying Soul
9. …Advesperascit…
10. Buio/XII Touches
11. Tectum Nemoralibus Umbris
12. Lugubri Lai
13. La Notte Eterna

Tracks 1-2-3 taken from ‘…Ad Nihilum Recidunt Omnia’ MCD
Tracks 4-5 taken from ‘Sub Hyerosolyma’ EP
Tracks from 6 to 11 taken from ‘… Advesperascit…’ Demo
Tracks 12-13 never released before (recorded in 1997)
Cover Art by Fabio Cerone, who has drawn also the ‘Sub Hyerosolyma’ ep cover in 1992.

Read our review here.