Acid Blade – Power Dive Review

This Metal music world is always full of surprises and that’s one of the things that attracts me the most. Even within bands from the same style there are always significant diferences. Of course, this isn’t a consensus. There are people who don’t agree with me. That’s okay. I might not like your opinion, but I’ll fight to death to you have one.

Here we’ve got Acid Blade with “Power Dive” and album that could be labeled as NWOBHM, but I guess Speed Metal would fit better. When I say Speed Metal I address to bands as Acid or Savage Grace. It’s not that all tracks from “Power Dive” are faster than the speed of light, it’s about the high pitched vocals and the way the songs were written. I’d better say that the album is a mix of both Old School Heavy Metal and Speed Metal. Though album welcomer “Hot Bloods on the Loose” fits better in the Speed Metal lane. Fun fact is that it’s possible to find many more bands like this now than in the 1980s. I lost track of how many we’ve received here in the past years.

From where I’m standing Acid Blade is a very unusual name for a Metal band. The album cover is also a bit enigmatic. By the band name I would a more colorful cover, but I guess the prominence of the colors purple and blue is coherent with the music and the album tittle. “Power Dive” has some of the mystery and the mystique Metal albums from the 1980s had. A story that tracks as “The Tomb of Khentika Ikheki” and “Moonless Night” tell much better. Klay Mensana high pitched and versatile voice outstands. His voice is one of the highlights of Acid Blade as a band. As many bands from the 1980s, Acid Blade work as a band where it’s possible to notice the cohesion among the musicians. My dear child of the night will notice that no one is a virtuoso, but together the band works fine. That’s a trait from most Metal bands from the 1980s. I can’t tell if the musicians here are self-taught, however they sound as if. Self-taught musicians is another trait from Metal bands from the 1980s.

All right, it’s not Acid Blade with “Power Dive” which will save Metal music world, but who said the Metal music world needs to be saved in the first place?

Acid Blade “Power Dive” will be released on January 13th via Jawbreaker Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Hot Bloods on the Loose
  2. Ablaze at Midnight
  3. Power Dive
  4. Into the Light
  5. King Killer
  6. The Tomb of Khentika Ikheki
  7. Moonless Night
  8. Harpy on the Wing

Watch “Power Dive” official lyric video: