Age of Athena – Gate to Oblivion Review

Some albums come with an invitation to one’s reflect about their most profound beliefs. Age of Athena’s “Gate to Oblivion” made me think it over about the things I do like about Metal music. It’s not that the album is so different from what I’m used to but it does have many modern Metal efforts. It’s the combination of some mdoern stuff with Symphonic Metal. Not so much modern but it did make me think. Fun fact about the album is that it changes a lot the mood. Last, but not least, track “Sickness Without Sense” begins completely different from the other tracks form the album with a Hardcore cadence and vocals. It’s only when vocalist Helen Illumina comes that the fan will recognize that it is the same band. With the instrumentasl happen the same. Guitars are low-tuned and hard-knocking with that precise and tight sound. Its end is also totally different from the beginning.

“Gate to Oblivion” is shorter than the average albums. Well, I guess. The album is eight tracked and the tracks are short. Or, on second thought, the album is so good that I even noticed the time went by. I guess that the instrumental and mooding variations of the album helped a lot to have this feeling. No wonder. Sometimes as in the opener track “Lost in Darkness” I had the feeling that Angra were around. The guitar riffing is so punching as Angra’s and the piano passages do reminded me. But that’s all. Soon the guitars change the tone to something more modern a.k.a low-tuned. It’s an interesting combination Age of Athena found here. The combination with the piano and the guitars is a killer. By the way, it’s fantastic how the guitars change the tone throughout the album. Not only throughout the album but through the tracks. From “Fallen Skies” on vocals change as well with a shrieking harsh male voice that contrast a lot with Helen’s. That’s the beauty of it, if you know what I mean.

This album had a profound effect on me. I don’t really know why but it did. Maybe the modern things combined with the female vocals. Maybe, maybe not. I really don’t know but it did so I recommend it to you my dear fan.

Age of Athena “Gate to Oblivion” was self-released on December 17th.

Track Listing:

  1. Lost in Darkness
  2. Fallen Skies
  3. Dance with the Devil
  4. Ephemeral
  5. Burn down the Sun
  6. Together We Fall
  7. All for Nothing
  8. Sickness Without Sense

Watch “Sickness Without Sense” album stream here: