ALKALOID Release New Track ‘The Cambrian Explosion’

Alkaloid 2023

ALKALOID are mad scientists. With each album, the extreme metal concocters have poked and prodded at mysterious phenomena both of this world and far beyond. The band are now presenting the second new track of their upcoming album Numen. “The Cambrian Explosion” can be listened below.

After five years, ALKALOID are back with their third full-length and it’s got some of their most intricate, thought-provoking and batsh*t insane ideas yet. Numen is a 70-minute monolith of an album that doesn’t just colonize interstellar space with sentient fungi and cephalopods. No; it grabs the fabric of the universe and ties it into knots to break time and space themselves. The Bavarian band plays around with all kinds of genre experiments, effortlessly flipping death metal on its horned head with seductive flurries of jazz, flamenco, rock and gospel choirs.

Numen will be released on September 15 via Season of Mist.

Numen track listing:

Disc 1
1. Qliphosis (07:48)
2. The Cambrian Explosion (03:58)
3. Clusterf*ck (06:00)
4. Shades of Shub-Niggurath (06:11)
5. A Fool’s Desire (08:10)
6. The Fungi From Yuggoth (06:06)

Disc 2
1. The Black Siren (Instrumental) (1:39)
2. Numen (Dyson VII) (7:03)
3. Recursion (Dyson VIII) (3:29) 
4. The Folding (Dyson IX) (6:54)
5. Alpha Aur (13:23)

Alkaloid Numen