Allegaeon – Apoptosis

It’s with each generation of new fans that we get a solid set of bands that either replace the legends who have either faded away or simply called it a career. Virtually every style on the planet is subject to such a thing, and technical, progressive, or whatever name you wanna give it follows that very same rule. Allegaeon has been a name that the style has come to recognize and revere for years already with the glory behind their name coming to a peak with their previous record, “Proponent for Sentience”. It’s hard to overcome such a feat of an album that truly washed over the metal scene as some still can’t stop talking about it to this day, yet that didn’t stop Allegaeon from tackling a slightly different approach and tweaking their sound for fresh ears. And, with astounding effect, that very thing was achieved with “Apoptosis”.

What instantly stands out with this record is the heaviness. Don’t get me wrong, the signature craziness and progressive elements that Allegaeon have become synonymous with are all still there in brilliant detail. However, is the uncompromising levels of heaviness and the more focused approach to the death metal aspects of their sound that makes “Apoptosis” an absolute grinder of a record from start to finish. It’s honestly what helped me get through this album because if you strip the extra step of heaviness away then “Apoptosis” becomes a listen that’s pretty basic for the likes of Allegaeon and, thus, a little boring at times. Yet, that couldn’t be any further from the case here as it’s with these eleven tracks that Allegaeon stuns and amazes where other bands could very well slip and fall with “Apoptosis” being only the second record for their vocalist as well as taking on a new member since “Proponent for Sentience”.

It’d be so incredibly easy for this band to have taken the easy route out and gone for a sound that’s simpler to perform and make crowd pleasers the likes of which they haven’t created before. But like one of the leaders of the style that they are, Allegaeon refuses to sit quiet for too long and when they do stand up it’s always with immense power and a dazzling showcase of tremendous quality. Very few records have given us such a concoction as potent as “Apoptosis” in recent months, and to say that this record is all but intoxicating and will surely captivate throngs of people like its predecessor did would be a grievous understatement.

“Apoptosis” releases tomorrow via Metal Blade Records! You can listen to tracks from the album on Bandcamp here, or watch the latest single via YouTube below.

Track Listing:
1. Parthenogenesis
2. Interphase // Meiosis
3. Extremophiles (B)
4. The Secular Age
5. Exothermic Chemical Combustion
6. Extremophiles (A)
7. Metaphobia
8. Tsunami and Submergence
9. Colors of the Currents
10. Stellar Tidal Disruption
11. Apoptosis