Amorphis – Halo Review

It’s been a while since I haven’t seen so much courage in an album. “Halo” proves that there is a big difference between a change for changes’ sake and a change to reach a band’s new musical limits. “Halo” is undoubtedly the second. I respect a lot bands that give a huge different direction to their music searching for new horizons, not horizon$$$. I won’t say names even though some bands deserve it. Some people don’t understand, but creativity can’t be stopped, it can’t be blocked. Music is a creative work. Most times a musician can’t control the urges of songwriting. That’s why some bands change a lot their musical directions. Most can’t stand doing the same thing everyday. Can you, my fan, wonder what is to play the same songs for a life? I can’t. I remember an interview from the guys of Blue Oyster Cult that they totally hated to play “Godzilla” every single night and sometimes the encore. Torture.

Amorphis are one the pioneer of the Stockholm sound created circa 1992 or 1993. I totally understand the influences Amorphis deliver here because they are the same I have. Me and the guys from the band have the same age and were raised basically with the same bands. Of course, I say all this from what I hear here with an “Halo,” album that delivers a mix that goes far back in time in a burning hodgepodge of sonancies. There are elements from the 1970s Rock and from the 1990s grunge. Most importantly, there are lots of Modern Metal influences as well. Listening to “Halo” made me look it with other eyes. But the cherry of the cake for me, of course, is the influences of 1970s sounds as the keyboards and the mooding. In the middle of all that is the 1990s vocals that remidn a lot Soundgarden’s Chris Cornell interweaven with the characteristic death growl. But the sound of the keyboards is the thing that I loved more. With a presence in almost all tracks it gives that charateristic sound of the 1970s Rock and Jazz Rock. Those things and others take Amorphis very far from the original purpose that was Melodic Death Metal. The band changed, but changed for the best, if you know what I mean.

As usual album opener “Northwards” call all the attention. The song is powerful and full of spices. A song that shows all the sonic hodgepodge that Amorphis are into right now. To pick only one form the entire album would be it. But I have to say that it’s a very hard task to pick onlu one. “Halo” is the album for the fans that are looking for something else. For the fans that are looking for a band with lots of courage and lots, but lots of guts and creativity. Another candidate for album nomination if I don’t forget. After all it’s only February. So, let’s save some dollars for buy the phisical CD. I do that for the albums I review here that I like more.

Amorphis “Halo” will be released on February 11th via Atomic Fire Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Northwards
  2. On the Dark Waters
  3. The Moon
  4. Windmane
  5. A New Land
  6. When the Gods Came
  7. Seven Roads Come Together
  8. War
  9. Halo
  10. The Wolf
  11. My Name Is Night

Watch “Daughter of Hate” official alive video here: