Atomic Kavemen – Atomic Kavemen

Well, well, well… My child of the night, hello again! It’s been sure a while since my last review. I know you missed me. No? Okay, then, no hard feelings. Truth is I had a serious problem with my PC. Yeah, PC. I can’t write anywhere else. Getting too old for that app thing. Its motherboard melted down and it had to be replaced. It’d mean a lot of bucks out of my poor pockets, but the old geezer here has the habit of keeping his old computers and I got a motherboard from it. Bottomline, cheaper than I expect with only the inconvenience of loosing so much time. But, that’s life, boys and girls.

Okay, so I decided to get back where I was when the lights went out – from my computer, you know. I was exactly on the first notes of Atomic Kavemen and their debut self-titled album. No, no, I don’t blame them for shutting down my computer, or should I? Nah, nevermind.

Seriously, Atomic Kavemen are different to the ears of the regular Heavy Metal guy. It sounds like some post-punk band from the 1980s. In fact, some songs as “Shinning” sound a lot as The Cult’s first efforts mostly because of vocalist tone of voice which is very near Ian Astbury’s. Following track “Nowhere” has that deep imposed voice as Joy Division among others – I really don’t remember any other examples though knowing the bands. It’s the aging process, my child of the night.

Atomic Kavemen are a fun band if you are in for something out of Metal, but still with a heavy grip. Yeah, Atomic Kavemen are heavy with catchy vocal lines. If you know The Cult even better because it is a band which you relate with. BTW, the art cover is also fun.

Atomic Kavemen was released on January 04th.

Track Listing:

  1. Walking Away
  2. Slam Hammer
  3. Shining
  4. Nowhere
  5. Never Release You
  6. Gunshot

Watch “Shining” official video here: