Audrey Horne – Blackout

One of the biggest problems that I’ve noticed within the metal/rock community is people have trouble knowing how to have fun. I don’t mean that the genres are devoid of bands that know how to have a good time, but it’s all too often that bands who have a “don’t give a f**k” attitude get pushed down. I’ve never really understood such a mindset because then you’re missing out on some great performances that are simply infectious! Bands like Audrey Horne simply don’t get enough credit despite being class acts that have a shot at making it with catchy singles and electric musicianship. It’s albums like “Blackout” that are nothing but a damn fun time.

Allow me to preface by saying that just because an album isn’t the most technical or flashy when it comes to instrumentation it can’t make an album fun. It’s just something about catchy choruses, tunes that make you tap your foot along, and a simple setup that makes for music that really knows how to sink its way into your skull. That’s something that “Blackout” does incredibly well as Audrey Horne lays out all of their cards on the table for this record that’s the very life of the party that these Norwegians take with them everywhere they go. From starting “Blackout” off with Iron Maiden-like flair to great chemistry between the dual guitars to the edgy sound coupled with a  rock’n’roll attitude, Audrey Horne really knows how to deliver an album that’s not only an engaging one but something that lightens the mood and hooks you in for a wild ride of anthems and riffs. Many, many bands try to do what “Blackout” does but it’s a delicate formula albeit not the most complex one. It takes the right balance of talent and passion to harness something like the power behind Audrey Horne, and this band has been perfecting their craft since 2002.

Whenever I think of Norway I always think of metal, yet there’s more to the country than that, of course, and I love seeing what else Norwegians can create. The fact that Audrey Horne can be so enthralling and come from a nation with an illustrious music scene as Norway is no surprise to me, and it makes me what to move there even f**king more. “Blackout” is a listen for a feel-good car ride and something that you can just casually listen to in order to pump yourself up. It’s an easy listen that’s still a ton of fun if given the chance, and that’s something that’s too good to pass up.

“Blackout” releases on January 12th via Napalm Records! You can pre-order the album via iTunes here.

Track Listing:

  1. This Is War
  2. Audrevolution
  3. Blackout
  4. This Man
  5. Midnight Man
  6. Light Your Way
  7. California
  8. Satellite
  9. Naysayer
  10. Rose Alley