BEHEMOTH’s NERGAL: ‘Working With COREY TAYLOR Has Made My Career’

Corey Taylor and Nergal

BEHEMOTH frontman Adam “Nergal” Darski spoke to Loudwire about ME AND THAT MAN‘s second album, New ManNew Songs, Same Sh*t, Vol. 1, and why he’s more determined than ever to keep pissing off those who want to see him silenced.

When asked if he had a clear vision in mind for New Man, New Songs, Same Sh*t, Vol. 1 when he began work on the record, Nergal responded: “I’ve always seen this album as an open project — it was like being on a highway and seeing where it would take me. It was getting the other people involved that really showed me the direction the record was going in, and there was no single formula for how I approached working with everyone.

“I had some people come in and do exactly what they were told to, whereas others would f*ck everything around and come up with new arrangements and lyrical ideas. Jørgen Munkeby from SHINING (Norway), for example, added saxophone over the guitars, which wasn’t my intention, but it made the music more memorable.

He also spoke how was it like working with eleven different artists on the album: “Ihsahn from EMPEROR surprised everyone with what he did. All the people who’ve heard “By The River” have commented on how they never knew he could sing so emotionally. The world has never heard him perform like that before, which is amazing.

“And then with Corey Taylor, just the fact that he’s taking part in a niche project like this is mind-blowing to me; he’s such a busy guy, but he really took his time with this and contributed some awesome parts — working with him has made my career, to be honest.

“To be completely frank, working on this record has made me feel like a teenager again, opening Christmas presents from all these artists I respect so much,” Nergal added. “And I’m not taking this for granted: New Man, New Songs, Same Sh*t, Vol. 1 has been a great artistic adventure and challenge for me, and one I feel I’ve pulled off. Doing this has left me feeling very fulfilled.

When asked if it was strange making the album on his own after the split with John Porter, he replied: “Not at all. Even when John was still in the band I knew we couldn’t continue that way because there was too much drama and too many problems that were caused by him.

He added: “I’ve been doing this for 30 years, and I’ve never had to deal with that kind of thing before — the situation was just wrong.

Me And That Man
Photo Credit: Grzegorz-Gołębiowski

ME AND THAT MAN‘s upcoming album, New Man, New Songs, Same Sh*t, Vol.1, will be released on March 27, 2020 via Napalm Records.

The enthralling album visits a completely new spectrum of dark desert vibes and sees notable heavy music icons such as Corey Taylor (SLIPKNOT), Brent Hinds (MASTODON), Matt Heafy (TRIVIUM), Ihsahn (EMPEROR) and Sivert Høyem (MADRUGADA) join the pact with the devil. New Man, New Songs, Same Sh*t, Vol.1 is a diversified, dynamic masterpiece that presents Nergal in a completely new light, providing a strong contrast to the heavier sounds of BEHEMOTH. Evil has truly never sounded so good.

New Man, New Songs, Same Sh*t, Vol. 1 track listing:

01. Run With The Devil (feat. Jørgen Munkeby of SHINING)
02. Coming Home (feat. Siver Høyem of MADRUGADA)
03. Burning Churches (feat. Mat McNerney of GRAVE PLEASURES)
04. By The River (feat. Ihsahn of EMPEROR)
05. Męstwo
06. Surrender (feat. Anders Landelius of DEAD SOUL)
07. Deep Down South (feat. Nicke Anderson of ENTOMBED / Johanna Sadonis of LUCIFER)
08. Man Of The Cross (feat. Jerome Reuter of ROME)
09. You Will Be Mine (feat. Matt Heafy of TRIVIUM)
10. How Come? (feat. Corey Taylor of SLIPKNOT and STONE SOUR) / Brent Hinds of MASTODON)
11. Confession (feat. Niklas Kvarforth of SHINING)

Me and That Man new man new songs same sht
Cover artwork: Bartek Rogalewicz