BLACK SABBATH To Release ‘Vinyl Collection’ With Bonus Rarities In September

Black Sabbath

When Ozzy OsbourneTony IommiGeezer Butler and Bill Ward formed BLACK SABBATH in 1968, the quartet conjured a primal sound that was heavier, louder and more menacing than anything that had come before. The band recorded a series of metal masterpieces in the ’70s that became the blueprint for heavy music and influenced generations of headbangers for years to come.

Rhino‘s new collection spans the Rock And Roll Hall Of Famers’ first eight years with a nine-LP boxed set that includes 180-gram vinyl pressings of the band’s eight studio albums from the era, along with a new mono singles collection. The set also comes with a seven-inch single featuring “Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me)” and “Wicked World”, a single that wasn’t originally released in North America. Also included in the set are reproductions of the original tour books from this era.

“Black Sabbath: The Vinyl Collection 1970-1978” will be available on September 6 for $249.98. The set will be produced in a limited, numbered edition of 3,000 copies. Pre-order is available here.

The collection brings together some of the most powerful metal albums ever recorded, including the band’s eponymous debut (1970); the multi-platinum landmark “Paranoid” (1970); the platinum albums “Master Of Reality” (1971), “Vol. 4” (1972) and “Sabbath Bloody Sabbath” (1973); the gold-certified “Sabotage” (1975); plus “Technical Ecstasy” (1976) and “Never Say Die!” (1978)

These albums contain a long list of metal classics, like “Black Sabbath”“War Pigs”“Iron Man”“Paranoid”“Sweet Leaf”“Children Of The Grave”“Into The Void”“Changes”“Supernaut”“Sabbath Bloody Sabbath”“Never Say Die” and “Dirty Woman”.

“The Vinyl Collection 1970-1978” also comes with “Monomania”, a new compilation of mono versions for several key songs from the BLACK SABBATH catalog, including edited versions of “Iron Man”, “Sabbath Bloody Sabbath” and a previously unreleased edit of “Into The Void”. In addition to mono versions of studio tracks, “Monomania” also features a radio ad released in 1970 to promote “Black Sabbath”.

“Black Sabbath: The Vinyl Collection 1970-1978”:

Album Listing:

“Black Sabbath” (1970) 
“Paranoid” (1971) 
“Master Of Reality” (1971) 
“Vol 4” (1972) 
“Sabbath Bloody Sabbath” (1974) 
“Sabotage” (1975) 
“Technical Ecstasy” (1976) 
“Never Say Die!” (1978)

“Monomania” track listing:

Side One:

01. Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me) * 
02. Wicked World 
03. The Wizard 
04. Iron Man (Edited Version)

Side Two:

01. Paranoid 
02. Into The Void (Edited Version) ** 
03. Sabbath, Bloody Sabbath (Edited Version) 
04. It’s Alright 
05. Radio Spot For Black Sabbath

7″ Single (45rpm)

“Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me)” b/w “Wicked World”

* previously unreleased in North America 
** previously unreleased