BORKNAGAR Release First Single ‘The Fire That Burns’ From Upcoming Album

Borknagar 2019
Photo credit: Jørn Veberg

Norway’s avantgarde Black Metal pioneers and innovators BORKNAGAR arise at their most spirited and resplendent on their 11th studio album, True North, which is going to be out on September 27th, 2019.

Today BORKNAGAR release the single “The Fire That Burns” as a first impression from the upcoming album.

Øystein G. Brun comments: “Finally, the very first single from our upcoming album True North is unleashed upon the world, entitled “The Fire that Burns.”

On the verge of releasing our 11th album, we’re naturally bound to reflect some about our lengthy past, all the music we have created and all the fights we have fought. In the name of music. Still we are here after 25+ years, stand firm on our musical visions and ready to boot up for yet another musical journey – wherever that may lead in this vast and wondrous world.

“So when deciding the first song to be released, “The Fire That Burns” was an easy pick. Not because the song represents True North as a whole, neither because of the song represents some sort of musical peak. “True North” is way too diverse for such a pick and please concept. But rather it was chosen because of the nature of the song.

Musically it’s true towards the musical heritage of BORKNAGAR, and last but not least, the song deals with “The Fire That Burns.” Forever. The very spark that makes life a greater probability than death. Enjoy and rock on!”

True North track listing:

  1. Thunderous
  2. Up North
  3. The Fire That Burns
  4. Lights
  5. Wild Father’s Heart
  6. Mount Rapture
  7. Into The White
  8. Tidal
  9. Voices
Borknagar True North
Sign up to receive all latest news and updates from Metal Addicts straight into your inbox!