Iron Maiden 2021

In a new interview with Kerrang! magazine, IRON MAIDEN frontman Bruce Dickinson said that he drew inspiration from RAMMSTEIN for the animated video for MAIDEN‘s new single “The Writing On The Wall.”

He said: “I said to Rod [SmallwoodMAIDEN manager], ‘Have you seen the video for ‘Deutschland’ by RAMMSTEIN?’ That, to me, is a groundbreaking video. That’s astonishing. Now, I’m not suggesting we do that, because we’re not RAMMSTEIN. But think of what we could do that would have the equivalent impact for us. So, I wrote storyboard for the vid, tweaked it a little bit, and gave it a happy ending. Well, kind of a happy ending — Adam and Eve start again, but with Eddie going, ‘I’ll still get you in the end.'”

IRON MAIDEN will release their 17th studio album, Senjutsu, on September 3rd via Parlophone Records (BMG in the USA). You can pre-order album via Amazon here.

For Senjutsu — loosely translated as ‘tactics & strategy’, the band once again enlisted the services of Mark Wilkinson to create the spectacular Samurai themed cover artwork, based on an idea by Steve Harris. And with a running time of a little under 82 minutes, Senjutsu, like their previous record The Book Of Souls, will be a double CD album/triple vinyl album.

Senjutsu track listing:

1. Senjutsu (Smith/Harris) 8:20
2. Stratego (Gers/Harris) 4:59
3. The Writing On The Wall (Smith/Dickinson) 6:13
4. Lost In A Lost World (Harris) 9:31
5. Days Of Future Past (Smith/Dickinson) 4:03
6. The Time Machine (Gers/Harris) 7:09
7. Darkest Hour (Smith/Dickinson) 7:20
8. Death Of The Celts (Harris) 10:20
9. The Parchment (Harris) 12:39
10. Hell On Earth (Harris) 11:19

Iron Maiden Senjutsu