Cattle Decapitation – The Anthropocene Extinction

22594_10153288684259886_1876037733424602330_n I feel like anyone who loved the track, “Manufactured Extinct”, when it was released months ago knew that Cattle Decapitation’s newest album “The Anthropocene Extinction” was going to be the next big f*cking thing in death metal, and holy f*cking sh*t were we right! This album straight from the first few tracks is already a masterpiece without a single doubt in my mind. With the theme of the destruction of the planet by human hands, Cattle Decapitation have once again hit the nail on the death metal head. Straight from the beginning, “The Anthropocene Extinction” is a brutal masterpiece that cannot be beat as one of the most renowned death/grind band in the world does it again. The vocals are brutal in every moment of the entire album, the guitars fast, rhythmic, and vicious at once, and the drums had a monstrous beat along with having a great blast beat that works way too well for what I’d expect from any sort of blast beat so it’s a very welcome surprise. The only real exception is one track, “Ave Extitium”, where everything fast and brutal comes to a screeching halt and everything becomes slower, calmer, and very atmospheric. I won’t spoil too much because you have to experience it in it’s full glory to really understand what I mean. And if that’s not enough for you, then maybe the fact that there are guest vocalists, including Philip godd*mn Anselmo of motherf*cking Pantera (in a good way), on this album that add more spice to an already 12-track masterpiece of an album. “The Anthropocene Extinction” is without a doubt the death metal album this year as it has got everything you could ever want, need, and/or imagine from a death metal album mixed with grind and progressive metal to create a truly unique album from a legendarily brutal band. If you are any sort of fan of innovative brutality, then you have to check out “The Anthropocene Extinction” because it gets ten out of ten from me for being the best death metal masterpiece that I’ve ever heard before.

You can stream “The Anthropocene Extinction” in full on Spotify here, listen to the intro track, “Manufactured Extinct”, via YouTube below, and then purchase the album via iTunes here.

Track Listing:

  1. Manufactured Extinct
  2. The Prophets of Loss
  3. Plagueborne
  4. Clandestine Ways (Krokodil Rot)
  5. Circo Inhumanitas
  6. The Burden of Seven Billion
  7. Mammals in Babylon
  8. Mutual Assured Destruction
  9. Not Suitable for Life
  10. Apex Blasphemy
  11. Ave Exitium
  12. Pacific Grim