CHRIS CORNELL ‘Autopsy’ TV Special Gets Official Premiere Date

Reelz cable network has announced August 12 as the premiere date of Chris Cornell special of their series “Autopsy: The Last Hours Of…”.

 Paul Ayres is portraying Chris, while the rest of the cast includes Andrew Shire as bassist Ben Shepherd, Patrick Holly as drummer Matt Cameron, and Ben Sura as guitarist Kim Thayil. Zoran Trajkovic was in charge of directing.

As the press release noted, “Autopsy: The Last Hours Of…” is a documentary-style television series that investigates the tragic, controversial and sudden deaths of celebrities. The series debuted in 2014 on Channel 5 in the UK and was later broadcast in the United States by Reelz.

In 2016, the first American produced season of Autopsy aired with Panama City, Florida’s former District 14 medical examiner Dr. Michael Hunter taking over as the host. The UK produced episodes featured Dr. Richard Shepherd and subsequently (after about the first ten episodes), Dr. Jason Payne-James (for about five more episodes) analyzing the official autopsy reports of various celebrities to determine their cause of death.

For its eighth season, which premiered on Reelz on February 11, new hour-long episodes have been slated to examine the deaths of James Dean, Elizabeth Taylor, David Bowie, Lou Reed, Muhammad Ali, Miles Davis, James Brown, Marvin Gaye, Andy Warhol, Cass Elliot aka “Mama Cass,” Andy Kaufman, Farrah Fawcett, Mindy McCready, Johnny Cash, George Harrison, George Michael, Gram Parsons, Barry White, Mary Tyler Moore, and James Gandolfini.