CONVULSE Release Title Track From Upcoming Album ‘Deathstar’

Photo credit: Okko Sorma

Finnish progressive death metal veterans CONVULSE have unveil their new lyric video for the track “Deathstar.” The song appears on the record of the same name, set for release October 30th via Transcending Records.

Deathstar delivers nine tracks that transcend the boundaries of standard death metal. Fusing the prime tenets of death metal, heavy rock, and prog into something innovative and enticing, the record arguably picks up where the band’s underrated 1994 Reflections full-length left off adopting a similar genre-bending approach and modernizing it.

Notes guitarist/vocalist Rami Jämsä of the title track, “For the song ‘Deathstar,’ I wrote about my frustration towards the growth of human greed, extinction, and hatred. It feels like we are living in a doomed planet called ‘Deathstar’ and I am worried about humanity and our future. This song was composed coequally with the band. The main riff came when we jammed together freely, a very common way for us to compose songs. I come very often to the rehearsal studio with only one riff or song idea and then we jam it together and see where it leads to. Sometimes good ideas lead to finished songs, but we also have a lot of unfinished ideas. The main riff on ‘Deathstar’ reminds me a little bit of SEPULTURA and on the chorus there is some KING CRIMSON influences.”

The album was recorded and mixed in analog, the way music was meant to be recorded, at JJ-studio. Artwork for Deathstar was created by Jan Yrlund, based on the painting Strangled by Minna Mead. Band photo and “The Summoning” video shot by Okko Sorma.

Deathstar track listing:

1. Extreme Dark Light
2. Whirlwind
3. The Summoning
4. Chernobyl
5. We Sold Our Soul For Rock’n Roll
6. Deathstar
7. Make Humanica Great Again
8. Light My Day
9. The End

Convulse Deathstar