Cryptworm – Spewing Mephitic Putridity Review

This Crypworm review is a great oportunity to me to exercise my inner capacity of being impartial. Yeah, it really is. This is not exactly the kind of Metal music I cherish. I confess that this too much even for me that admit to like all kinds of Metal with very few exceptions. This is one of them however. It’s a rule we have here with Metal Addicts that is not to slam any Metal band especially the obscure ones and I follow it strictly because I think it is importanto to do so. So many times I willingly chose not to review than to review and slam a band I didn’t like. Well, this rule has only exception and as far as I’m concerned it doesn’t apply to Metallica for obvius reasons, if my fan knows what I mean… hahahahahahaha

Ok, then. First things first, it’s the first time I see the vocals following the bass lines. Really. It’s the first time. As a matter of fact,  to me “Spewing Mephitic Putridity” is much more an instrumental album than one with vocals. Except for “Septic Phlegm Asphyxia” it’s not possible to hear the vocals and it’s possible it’s some nonsense gibberish. Enough with the vocals. Right, this stops now. Let’s talk about the instrumentals that are the thing that really made me decide to write this review. It makes the album worth it with outstanding and creative bass lines, something we don’t see everyday with Metal music. They kind of divert all the attention to the lack, or something else, of vocals. They are varied and diverse. I really liked the low tone of the guitars that instead of hiding them in fact they enlighten the songs. The way the band changes the cadence and the speed of the songs is another remarkable thing. I just wish vocals were better…

Well, I guess I went well on exercising my impartiality. Please, don’t get me wrong, I just like vocals. On the other hand, I had a real good time with the songs’ tittles.

Crypworm “Spewing Mephitic Putridity” will be released on March 11th via Me Saco Un Ojo Records (LP) / Pulverised Records (CD) / Extremely Rotten Productions (MC).

Track Listing:

  1. Disgorged Chunks of Life
  2. Immense Cerebral Decomposition
  3. Reduced to Liquified Mass
  4. Disembowelment (Draped in Gore)
  5. Premature Entombment
  6. Septic Phlegm Asphyxia
  7. Amorphous Transmutations
  8. Spewing Mephitic Putridity

Watch “Disgorged Chunks of Life” official video here: