Darkened Nocturn Slaughtercult – Mardom

Isn’t it adorable when you get surprised by a band? This is one of the most exciting releases of 2019. Here we have a band, Darkened Nocturn Slaughtercult, that follow some deceptive features as I keep on saying because at first you may think it’s old school Black Metal. That’s the impression that gets from the first listen to opening track which has indeed an old school grip. But from them on, Darkened Nocturn Slaughtercult get more and more modern displaying some features of what I’m calling the burlesque Black metal adding some vaudeville together with demonic mockery. The outcome is a vigorous and exciting album as “Mardom,” an album that makes you thrill from day one. 

“Mardom” opens up with “Inception of Atemporal Transition” which is actually a long intro with white noise and other similar things. I confess that at times I try to avoid those kind of intros, but I know it plays a role at the band’s mind. It serves as an intro to the butchery and carnage of “Mardom – Echo Zmory,” a very good piece in the good old school style. is a savage piece that shows all the anger and wrath that a Black metal has to show. It’s the rebellion, nothing else. Satan himself was a rebel. “A Sweven Most Devout” goes on pretty much the same attitude and grip, but a little bit faster cadence and guitar riffing, by the way, a very interesting guitar riff and licks.

Things start to chance with “T.O.W.D.A.T.H.A.B.T.E,” which slows down a little and make use of different musical choices. Musicwise, “T.O.W.D.A.T.H.A.B.T.E,” is much more near the NWOBHM that Black metal. It’s here that the burlesque begins in some almost hidden, but noticeable passages as the riffing from the third minute on. Now, vocals are much more despair and grief than rage showing Darkened Nocturn Slaughtercult change of heart. Then, the burlesque takes on from “A Beseechment Twofold” on. Notice that even the musical structures change to adapt to this change of heart. Guitar and drums are the ones that change the most. Guitarist Velnias tries other melodies and structures to involve the music better. The outcome is outstanding making Darkened Nocturn Slaughtercult a grateful surprise entitling them to a revelation of 2019.

Darkened Nocturn Slaughtercult “Mardom” was released on April 12th via War Anthem Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Inception of Atemporal Transition

  2. Mardom – Echo Zmory

  3. A Sweven Most Devout

  4. T.O.W.D.A.T.H.A.B.T.E

  5. A Beseechment Twofold

  6. Exaudi Domine

  7. The Boundless Beast

  8. Widma

  9. Imperishable Soulless Gown

  10. The Sphere

Watch “The Dead Hate the Living” alive here: