Death SS – Rock’n’Roll Armageddon

Sometimes I get real ashamed of not knowing some bands I review here even when they are great in the scene. I mean, the name Death SS has been coming back and forth for a while in my mind. It’s one of those bands that you’ve heard of but has never actually get a hold on any of their efforts. So sorry, guys! Unfortunatelly, it’s impossible even for a pro like me to know each band in the scene. And I try really hard because I receive tons of bands in a week.

Death SS are one of those unsugn heroes of the Metal world. A band that has been struggling for more than forty years. It’s a lot, I confess. “Rock’n’Roll Armageddon” was recorded in 2018 and self-released and distributed by mastermind Steve Sylvester and his label Lucifer Risign. Only this year the album could reach larger international audiences by the grace of High Roller Records. There are things in this Metal world that are really difficult to understand.

Well, the Death SS original purpose was to write a material strongly inspired by Alice Cooper’s shock rock and they are still loyal to their original intent. “Rock’n’Roll Armageddon” is an album that has both feet in the past and in the future. There are tracks as “Promised Land” that are pure rock’n’roll gems with a touch of modernity. Death SS are really loyal to their roots, I must say. Other tracks as “Zombie Massacre” have tons of modernity with big guitars and the onipresent spokesperson – a feature very used by the master Alice Cooper. Lordi are a great reference for you my child of the night understand the music Death SS make.

Despite all the bad luck, “Rock’n’Roll Armageddon” doesn’t sound awkward and outdated – well, in fact, I don’t like this term. The album is strong and pungent with a very good guitar player – another feature that Alice Cooper knows really well how to get. But, believe me, as though as I used Alice Cooper a lot, Death SS have managed to acquire a personality far from the master. Of course, there always will be a shadow here and there, but “Rock’n’Roll Armageddon” deserves a good listening. There are delicious tracks as the aforementioned and “The Fourth Reich”and its acid lirics which is a constant in the album and the harmica driven “Your Life Is Now.”

Death SS “Rock’n’Roll Armageddon” was released on July 12th via High Roller Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Black Soul
  2. Rock’n’Roll Armageddon
  3. Hellish Knights
  4. Slaughterhouse
  5. Creature of the Night
  6. Madness of Love
  7. Promised Land
  8. Zombie Massacre
  9. The Fourth Reich
  10. Witches’ Dance
  11. Your Life Is Now
  12. The Glory of the Hawk
  13. Forever

Watch “Rock’n’Roll Armageddon” video here: