Down Among the Dead Men – …And You Will Obey Me

 Whenever I see the term “supergroup” pop up, I always seem to see a s**t ton of excitement about it because people are excited to see what members of Mastodon, Soulfly, Dark Funeral, or whoever can do outside their main acts. And for all intents and purposes, Down Among the Dead Men is easily the best supergroup that I’ve never heard of.

I feel like that I should’ve known about a band featuring both Echelon and Ursinne members with their debut album. But no! It’s only with the third full-length album from Down Among the Dead Men, “…And You Will Obey Me”, that I’ve discovered this tasteful act. Imagine what that would sound like. Riffs left and f**king right with cut-throat vocals piercing every moment that’s backed up by no less than stellar musicianship. The dream matchup that is Down Among the Dead Men is almost too glorious to behold because of how powerful the men behind the act have come together to work cohesively as an unstoppable unit.

Just them by themselves are forces to reckon with, but together they create something else entirely. “…And You Will Obey Me” shows the signature no-f**king-around attitude of Ursinne or Henry Kane paired with the undeniable power of Paganizer or Echelon. It all comes to a peak with this album as Down Among the Dead Men shred everything in their path leaving only viscera and fire in their wake as this third full-length effort shows true tenacity, talent, and power that we already knew the members of this band had but this effort brings even more of it to the center stage with a near flawless presentation

Everyone always has a select few bands or musicians that they always keep tabs on to see what they’re up to, and I thought I was pretty caught up with hwaiqbdhsiw until I found out about “…And You Will Obey Me”. It’s a marvelous record with Down Among the Dead Men surely to become a cult hit as soon as this record smashes upon the world!

“…And You Will Obey Me” releases on June 15th via Transcending Obscurity Records! You can listen to advanced tracks from the album via Bandcamp here.

Track Listing:

  1. Destroy the Infinite
  2. Axis of Insanity
  3. …And You Will Obey Me
  4. The End of Time
  5. Omega
  6. House of Blue Fire
  7. The Age of Steel
  8. Eye of Harmony
  9. Darkness of Glass
  10. Panopticon