Dying Fetus – Wrong One to Fuck With

 There are some bands out there that simply don’t ever think “how much is too much?” and sometimes that can be fucking awesome! While it can easily lead to an album that manages to impress at every turn with immense brutality, it can also lead to a record whose only goal seems to just be loud. I’ve always feared Dying Fetus would become the latter, but thankfully that’s not happening anytime soon, and their upcoming record is excellent proof. Taking their already legendarily murderous streak and turning the notch up to a billion, “Wrong One to Fuck With” is something that can’t be taken lightly as it will blast you into a fine red spray in an instant.

The thought of Dying Fetus becoming even more fucking brutal after such an epitomic career that’s helped shape death metal into its modern form is no less than staggering to me. How can they go farther? How can they push the boundary? How the ever living fuck could they make their rampage even more brutal?! The answers to all of those valid questions lie in the ten tracks of “Wrong One to Fuck With”. Everything about this record seems to fight against all sorts of censorship and try to be as fucking monstrously brutal as possible, and Dying Fetus fucking hit it right out of the park! Busting in immediately with masterful work of the fret board and becoming much more technical then I could’ve fathomed, and then pepper in some of the most vicious assaults these vocals have ever laid down and we got a real staple of modern death metal taking their material to glorious new heights. “Wrong One to Fuck With” is what we’d come to expect from a band as prolific as Dying Fetus, but I’ll be damned before I say that it’s underwhelming in any sort of way. The entirety of this monstrous album is ridiculously brutal, unrelentingly intense, and takes the idea of “go for the throat” to an entirely new level. Pulled off with utmost style and horrific grace, naturally.

Normally, I’d have a small list of things that I keep in the back of my head that I’d want to change for each record I hear. When it comes to “Wrong One to Fuck With” I wouldn’t touch a single fucking note. Everything about this gory record is an absolute masterstroke and another phenomenal reason as to why Dying Fetus has been a pillar for death metal for over 25 years now. The lords of the artful murder have yet to give up their throne, and it seems like they won’t be parting with it anytime soon.

“Wrong One to Fuck With” releases on June 23rd via Relapse Records! You can pre-order the album via iTunes here, and listen to the first 3 tracks from the album on Bandcamp here.

Track Listing:

  1. Fixated on Devastation
  2. Panic Amongst the Herd
  3. Die with Integrity
  4. Reveling in the Abyss
  5. Seething with Disdain
  6. Ideological Subjugation
  7. Weaken the Structure
  8. Fallacy
  9. Unmitigated Detestation
  10. Wrong One to Fuck With
  11. Induce Terror (Bonus Track)