Evergrey – The Atlantic

I’ve known Evergrey for a long time, but it’s not a band that I have a great recollection of their music. I mean I remember I liked them what I heard for the first time, but if you ask me to detail their music, I’ll say I can’t. What I can say is that the music I heard twenty years ago was pretty different from what I hear in “Atlantic.” Very different. “Atlantic” is much more melodic than what I’ve heard before. It has lots of touches of those radiophonic Modern Metal songs, though with guitar solos. Good ones, I must say.

All bands pass through changes in so many years of career but the Ramones. It’s a natural thing due to line-up changes, members get old, musical abilities evolve, tastes change, and many others. Sometimes it’s time to embrace changes, of course not in the way Metallica’s James Hetfield mean – he means selling out to say the truth. But my opinion is that “Atlantic” will be kind of disappoint to Evergrey hardcore fans. It’s not a bad album, it’s just different. Keyboards and electronic effects are more present. If I didn’t know their predecessors, I’d say the outcome is good. Some songs are very sugared as “End of Silence” but others are powerful as “A Silent Arc.” “Atlantic” bounces the two moments. “End of Silence” has a great keyboard and guitar bridge that leads to an interesting guitar solo. “Departure,” for instance, pays a huge respect to the pop music made in the 1980s. What if the guitars were a bit louder…

There are two highlights in “Atlantic” which are the clean and clear vocals and the powerful bass lines that takes the lead in some tracks as in “Currents.” Vocalist Tom S. Englund is singing like hell here. In some vocalists the voice is like good wine, it gets better with time. Guitars are a bit shy, but they do a good job. I prefer them louder. Only that.

Evergrey “Atlantic” will be released on January 25th via AFM Records.

Track Listing:

  1. A Silent Arc
  2. Weightless
  3. All I Have
  4. A Secret Atlantis
  5. The Tidal
  6. End Of Silence
  7. Currents
  8. Departure
  9. The Beacon
  10. This Ocean

Watch “A Silent Arc” official video here: