Evermore – In Memoriam Review

It’s while listening to some bands that we understand how influential some bands can be. Some influences are perceived while listening to bands that came after some time. I’ll elaborate. Helloween are one of the pioneers of Power Metal. That is known. They were one of the bands that I really got interested in the first place. “Walls of Jericho” was their first that I got a hold of and I still listen to it every now and then. I followed the band’s career until, I guess, “The Time of the Oath,” but not so close as I would like to. There are bands that I lost contact and I can’t really tell why. However, I guess many don’t know how influential Helloween could be. It’s only when one listens to a band as Evermore that those influences can be felt.  All bands have influences that can be felt and that’s what happens here with Evermore. It’s not that this “In Memoriam” is a total copy of Helloween, but it’s possible to tell the influences in each track most notably on vocals. However, I guess, I could be very especific on what album “In Memoriam” is more relied upon. I feel that “The Time of the Oath” era is the most important reference I can tell for the album plus some symphonic traits here and there. “I Am the Flame” tells this tale much better that I do.

Okay, now about Evermore. First of all, I confused them with Nevermore. Yeah, right. That happened because there was a time I used to download tons of albums via eMule and many of them I could never listen to. My dear child of the night who’s ever dealed with eMule downloading album knows that in some point it turns into an addiction. That’s what happened to me. I saw myself downloading lots and lots of albums that I could never listen to. “In Memoriam” is their sophomore album and we had the pleasure of reviewing their debut album 2022′ “Court of the Tyrant King.” From this debut album I could tell that Evermore were different from the enormous crowd of Power Metal bands. There is, of course, the Helloween heritage as main influence that makes “In Memoriam” to be slightly different from its predecessor in many ways. Here the symphonic traits are stronger though there are no female vocals in it. They are here to give a classical touch to Evermore’s music and to add some layers of sound. There is opening track, or more an intro, “Nova Aurora” that may lead the fan to think they are a Neoclassical Metal band which is not true as “Forevermore” takes control making lots of noise. “Forevermore” accessed my memory of Helloween’s “Eagle Fly Free” due to the way it’s presented to the fan. Sometimes some songs trigger some areas in one’s memory even though they aren’t similar. The violins in it work to break the resemblances.

“In Memoriam” is a nice album even for the fans who don’t like Power Metal. There are elements of it that may please all metallers in a general sense.

Evermore “In Memoriam” will be released on April 21st via Scarlet Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Nova Aurora
  2. Forevermore
  3. Nightfire
  4. I Am the Flame
  5. Empire within
  6. Broken Free
  7. In Memorian
  8. Parvus Rex
  9. Queen of Woe

Watch “Forevermore” official music video here: