EVERY HOUR KILLS Share New Single ‘Euclidian’

EVERY HOUR KILLS, from Calgary, Canada, has a reputation for putting out solid, immersive EPs and creatively artistic music videos. Their latest work Vacua is expanding on their trademark sound, albeit it’s a twisted, heavier version than what fans have got used to over the years. This new release will see a new vocalist in the form of Jei Doublerice (Abiogenesis, Despite Exile, Sensory Amusia) and with his inclusion; EVERY HOUR KILLS does away with a lot of the melody and clean vocals, swapping them for brutal breakdowns and turbulent vocals. The initial glimpse into this new form is through the single “Euclidian”. You can listen to the new single below.

The single was co-written with Chris Wiseman (Currents, Shadow of Intent) and is an introduction to the new style with Doublerice. His riffing style complements Sacha Laskow’s perfectly and what came out was an amalgamation of this technical riffing with whacky synths/time signatures/cinematic breakdown. Doublerice came in over top with his signature intense style to wrap everything up. This is the shortest song on the EP and gets in and gets out with no filler.

Acknowledging that this new EP might not be for everyone, founder, guitarist, and producer Sacha Laskow, shares that this work is the result of a “dark, tumultuous f**ked up year” for him personally, along with many other people. He explains further:

“As lucky as I am to still have work and my basic needs met, the emotional rollercoaster still affected me strongly and I ended up unemployed for a period in 2020, and thus this EP was born. It is both more human in that I collaborated more strongly with new songwriters and Jei on vocals, but also more mechanical as I also wrote with the assistance of AI creation tools, and most of the instrumentation is programmed MIDI. I feel like this is my most honest work as a writer, to express what comes to mind rather than fit into a box or template of what Every Hour Kills ‘should’ sound like. It may alienate some people but so be it!”

“Vacua” will be the fourth studio release from the band, following “Every Hour Kills” (2015), “Fragile Machine” (2018) and “Re:awaken” (2020). The djenty scorecore is recommended for fans of Veil of Maya, Born of Osiris, and Periphery