First SLIPKNOT ‘We Are Not Your Kind’ Review Has Leaked, Here Is What It Says

Slipknot 2019

Guitar Club Magazine has posted a first review for upcoming SLIPKNOT album We Are Not Your Kind calling it a “pure SLIPKNOT style record.”

Review says (as translated by Alternative Nation):

“Without prejudice to their unmistakable style, the atmospheres become more intense, with arrangements (however in line with the aggressiveness and power that gave birth to their music) that acquire greater depth and deliver to each piece certain variations suitable to support the more disturbing harmonies and to make the succession of traces fluid.

“The album opens with ‘Insert Coin,’ a brief interlude of sounds and noises that heralds a journey full of emotions in the SLIPKNOT universe. The single ‘Unsainted’ then starts the tracklist with its choir intro supported by the same noises and samples that, gradually bringing the song to its actual explosion, lead to a refrain as indelible as it is captivating.

The obsessive rhythm and the rough and powerful riffs remain the cornerstone of the music of the famous metal band but the contrasts stand out among the 14 tracks of the album: melody and rabid vocal rhythm, speed and slow rhythm … Contrasts masterfully realized both from executive point of view, both in terms of production in study.

“The hard and super aggressive tracks ‘Birth Of The Cruel’ and ‘Nero Forte’ are separated by a further short and hypnotic interlude (“Death Because Of Death”), but it is the whole sequence of the pieces that give back the coherence that, inevitably, leads to the vision of the Clown and his traveling companions, to follow a planned route.

After the catchy atmospheres interspersed with the moments of furious outburst of ‘Critical Darling’, comes ‘Liar’s Funeral’, a dark song with a slow and obsessive trend, which contrasts with the aggressiveness of ‘Red Flag’. Shortly after having passed the half of the album ‘Spiders’ arrives, an interesting 7/4 that puts its expressive foundations in the sounds of electronic loops and in the melody of the cantata that, for the umpteenth time, finds the winning refrain.

“With ‘Orphan’ returns the classic style of SLIPKNOT but with a fluctuating and continuous trend of atmospheres, followed by ‘My Pain’ and its dark and disturbing mood which, with due caution, seems to be inspired by certain à-la PINK FLOYD sounds … ‘Not Long For This World’ and ‘Solway Firth.’”

SLIPKNOT has recently unveiled details of their very own craft spirit, No. 9 Iowa Whiskey, which will be available this summer at select retailers in all 50 states and at the band’s headline Knotfest Roadshow North America tour. A collaboration with the Iowa-based Cedar Ridge DistilleryNo. 9 Iowa Whiskey (90 proof) and No. 9 Reserve Iowa Whiskey (99 proof) are made with corn from the award-winning distillery’s family farm in Winthrop, Iowa.

SLIPKNOT will release their sixth studio album, We Are Not Your Kind, on August 9 via Roadrunner Records.

In March, SLIPKNOT announced the departure with the percussionist Chris Fehn after he filed a lawsuit against his band members over unpaid loyalties.

In his lawsuit, Fehn claims to have always been told that the money from merchandise and touring is funneled through one sole company that splits profits and pays the members of the band. However, Fehn claims he recently discovered that his bandmates have set up several other SLIPKNOT-affiliated business entities in different states that appear to be collecting money from the band.

SLIPKNOT have refused to reveal the identity of the new member, who is replacing Fehn, but some fans on Slipknot Reddit had speculated that Zach Hill is the new percussionist, and said they saw him at Jimmy Kimmel Live.