Flotsam and Jetsam – Blood in the Water Review

It’s always a pleasure and a honor to review an album from the pioneers, from the living history of Metal music as Flotsam and Jetsam. After all the band is one of the pioneers of the Thrash scene in the early 1980s. However, unfortunately Flotsam and Jetsam have so many ups and downs as a rollercoaster with so many lineups that is almost impossible to count on – well, it is but what’s the point?

Okay, then, here we have the new effort of the band named “Blood in the Water” via AFM Records. If the fan is so nostalgic and is looking for the good old Flotsam and Jetsam from the 1980s as “Doomsday of the Deceiver” I have some bad news. “Blood in the Water” is very far from the classics of the band. There is more. I wouldn’t label it as Thrash Metal. With some good intent I’d say it’s a Power Metal effort. Hold your horses now, my child of the night. I’m in no way saying that the album is bad or it’s some kind of last breath of a classic band that had better days. Nah, “Blood in the Water” is damn good and full of personality. It may not be as scorching as the classics but it does have its great moments. The essence of Thrash is there in some subtle and full finesse guitar riffs and bass thundering. However, it’s clear that Flotsam and Jetsam opted for more finesse than punch as vocalist, and only founding member present, Eric “A.K.” Knutson’s voice evolved into some Dio’s tones especially in “Walls.” Check it out.

As I said before, the atmosphere in “Blood in the Water” is much more near the Power Metal one than Thrash. However, at first with opening and tittle track “Blood in the Water” the fan may have the impression that all hell’s gonna break loose. Following track “Burn in the Sky” gives the same impression but soon the album goes into the finesse vibe and the guitars besides sharp and acid get melodic and melodious. Listen to “Cry for the Dead” and feel what Im saying. “Cry for the Dead” is the track that better impersonates the actual state of the band as it mixes power and finesse. It goes up and down all the time interweaven slow and melodic moments with some insane and crazy tunes. Maybe the best of the album.

Don’t listen to “Blood in the Water” expecting the past. Go for the bright future Flotsam and Jetsam foresee. The album is to heard with all the time in the world. It’s to be listened again and gain just to look for some hidden features one hasn’t heard before. Old dogs do learn new tricks. An interesting fact of the album is that all 12 tracks are around the four minute basis, except for “Undone” that is on the three minute basis. There’s a lot more to be uncovered here, my child of the night.

Flotsam and Jetsam “Blood in the Water” will be released on June 04th via AFM Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Blood in the Water
  2. Burn the Sky
  3. Brace for Impact
  4. A Place to Die
  5. Walls
  6. Cry for the Dead
  7. Wicked Hour
  8. Too Many Lives
  9. Dragon
  10. Reaggression
  11. Undone
  12. 7 Seconds

Watch “Burn the Sky” official video here: