Forgotten Horror – Aeon of the Shadow Goddess

fh-1500px-300dpi  We’ve all seen black/death metal albums, heard them, and seen copy cat albums a thousand million times without each album being the definition of “cookie cutter”. But in comes Forgotten Horror with their brand new black/death album “Aeon of the Shadow Goddess”. Now that cover art doesn’t make the album seem like much just by its appearance because this album had a much more different sound than other black/death albums. It wasn’t drastically different, but it was just different enough to the point where it felt like a breath of fresh air except more brutal and intense. There were many dynamics in “Aeon of the Shadow Goddess” like added effects, interesting guitar riffs, and an odd combination of vocals that made the album very fun to listen to simply because it was far from being any sort of cookie cutter album in every single way. The lengths of each track also ensured that you got as much intensity that Forgotten Horror could manage in one song without f**king up which they never did once in my opinion. “Aeon of the Shadow Goddess” is definitely one to check out for any black/death metal fan because you may find that nice refresher of an album with Forgotten Horror and want more and more by the time you finish the 9th and final track.

You can stream “Aeon of the Shadow Goddess” on Bandcamp here, stream the song “In Ravenous Darkness” from the album via YouTube below, and then purchase it via iTunes here.

Track Listing:

  1. The Adept
  2. Behold a Shadow Goddess
  3. …of Man’s First Rebellion
  4. Lilithian
  5. In Ravenous Darkness (The Shores of Mictlan)
  6. Queen of an Ivory Moon
  7. Babalon Emissaries
  8. Her Crescent Horns
  9. The Ghost of Time