Gatecreeper – Deserted

Gatecreeper “Deserted” has a great piece of what I call here deceptive intro. The five minute title track “Deserted” kicks off with a cadenced shoegazed sequence that lasts until the second minute right after presenting the desperate vocals. Then, “Deserted” speeds up a little getting an Old School Heavy Metal andante. The variation Gatecreeper do in tempo gives the spice to the track. By the way, “Deserted” is full of them and of vocal grief and despair which give it its strong personality. Following track, “Puncture Wounds,” rises a bit again the tempo going up to an alegro, or in Metal terms, near Speed Metal.

The variation in tempo and cadence that Gatecreeper do allows me to rightfully say that they undoubtedly are a Melodic Death Metal band with touches of Doom. Tracks as “From the Ashes” have a strong taste of Amon Amarth, but with a more pungent vocal showing much more despair. I have to say that despair is the word for a modern Metal bands these days. Another feature that sparks the attention is the option for writing riffs with full, and precise, power chords. Gatecreeper’s music in “Deserted” shows this clear option. Take “Ruthless” for instance. I have to say that this feature attracts me the most. I like the sound of a precise full power chord for giving a powerful effect that stays in the mind of the fan. It’s an option that very few bands use these days. It allows a more prominent drumming in order to fill in the blanks left by the chords. In Metal terms, the song gets heavier to the ears of the fan. Besides that, it emphasizes the guitar solos which, by the way, unfortunately, are scarse in this album. On the other hand, “Deserted” is rich in guitar licks and bridges that fill the void of the absence of solos – well, I love them, okay? Okay, nobody is perfect. For the record, “In Chains” have a nice and inspired guitar solo. I try to be fair, guys…

Gatecreeper “Deserted” was released on October 04th via Relapse Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Deserted
  2. Puncture Wounds
  3. From the Ashes
  4. Ruthless
  5. Everlasting
  6. Barbaric Pleasures
  7. Sweltering Madness
  8. Boiled Over
  9. In Chains
  10. Absence of Light

Watch “Boiled Over” official audio here: