Hitten – Twist of Fate

First things first, it’s so good to have a change of hearts, isn’t it? Metal provides that for us. Last review was of a complex, dark, dense, and doomy band. Now I’ve got something more happy, let’s use this word better. Hitten have an up mood, that’s it. Hitten are a travel in time. To the time of bands like Dokken, Ratt, Warrant, Poison, and many other. I confess this kind of Metal pleases me. It has always pleased. Many will say more of the same, but I really don’t care.

Hitten with “Twist of Fate” explore the good side of 1980’s LA Metal. That kind of Metal which saw itself in big trouble when thrash and other extreme metal bands took over. They were heavy, but not so heavy to please the incipient extreme metal scene fans. Anyway, I like the term heavy to them all. It fits best because that’s what they are heavy, not extreme-velocity. Songs like “Take It All” explains better Hitten music. The thing that calls the eye in this kind of how highlighted guitars are. Exactly what Hitten do in “Final Warning” and its flamboyant guitar riffs.

Title track, “Twist of Fate,” shows how Hitten have drank profusely in 1980’s bands. Though there aren’t changes in tempo and pace in their songs, songs vary a lot. Each song has a different story to tell. That’s what bands used to day back in the day. So good to know the style is alive and well. Thanks to bands like Hitten. It’s nice to listen again to a singer like Alexx Panza, very well-tuned with a neat voice. The dude has big pitch. Wonderful voice.

BTW, the very first notes of “Svccvbvs” sound a lot like Metallica’s “The Call of Ktulu.” Don’t let Lars listen to it, guys. However, it leads to the great “Evil Within.”

Hitten “Twist of Fate” will be released on September 14th via High Roller Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Take it All
  2. Final Warning
  3. Twist of Fate
  4. Flight to Freedom
  5. Svccvbvs
  6. Evil Within
  7. On the Run
  8. In the Heat of the Night
  9. Rocking Out the City
  10. Heroes

Watch “On the Run” official video here: