Incantation – Tricennial of Blasphemy Review

Incantation are defenitely a stapler of Death Metal. Now it’s the time to honor the band for its thirty years of blasphemy and defense of the faith of Metal music. This “Tricennial of Blasphemy” – I couldn’t think of a better tittle to it – opens the roads for more time of a relentless power and fiercy musical ferosity that the band represents. In these thirty years of career the band has released 12 studio albums, 4 Eps, and 2 alive albums. Coming to think of it, a hell of a long way. As a fun fact, guitarist and vocalist John McEntee is the only founding member left.

“Tricennial of Blasphemy” contains 31 tracks in three CDs from which 7 tracks were taken alive from the alive albums the band recorded.  Two of them are unreleased tracks, “Pest Savagery” and “Ordained By Night’s Will.” As all compilations like this, the album goes throught the band long career and take the songs that represent it better. As I always say this kind of album is great thing for the fan that wants to get to know the band’s career. It’s a kind of sum up of what the band has been doing for these 30 years of malevolence and musical incantation – no pun intended. From here my dear child of the night will notice that Incantation have been one of the bands that has successfully mixed speed-of-the-light cadences with slower ones. This kind of killer combination is one of the staplers of the band. The other one is the out-of-hell vocals that are grittier and lower than the average. “Absolved In Blood” tells this dark tale better. Pay attention to the insane low vocals and the intense and mesmerizing slow cadence of the song. The striking and sharp guitar solo intervention is a killer as well. The same goes on the other way around with the insane speed of “ScapeGoat” and its mocking as a demon vocals. Those traits weren’t the deal within Death Metal in 1989 when Incantation started their life long full of bloodthirsty journey. Death Metal owes a lot to them.

Bands as Incantation are dripping blood everywhere in their long time career. The band is here to prove all the naysayers – to say the least – that bet Death Metal wouldn’t get that long. If you know the band this album is a great honor, if you don’t it’s the best way of starting.

Incantation “Tricennial of Blasphemy” will be released on October 14th via Relapse Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Pest Savagery
  2. Ordained by Night’s Will
  3. Obelisk Reflection
  4. Nefarious Warriors
  5. Degeneration (Revenant cover)
  6. Absolved in Blood
  7. Scapegoat
  8. Sacrificial Sanctification
  9. Thieves of the Cloth
  10. Exiling Righteousness
  11. Hell Awaits (Slayer cover)
  12. Horde of Bestial Flames
  13. Ethereal Misery
  14. Impending Diabolical Conquest
  15. Forsaken Mourning of Angelic Anguish
  16. Nocturnal Kingdom of Demonic Enlightenment
  17. Subjugation Divine
  18. Emaciated Holy Figure
  19. Deliverance of Horrific Prophecies
  20. Profanation
  21. Intro-Entrantment of Evil
  22. Eternal Torture
  23. Devoured Death
  24. Unholy Massacre
  25. Oath of Armageddon (Live)
  26. Portal Consecration (Live)
  27. Impending Diabolical Conquest (Live)
  28. From Hollow Sands (Live)
  29. Iconoclasm of Catholicism (Live)
  30. Absolved in Blood (Live)
  31. Lead to Desolation (Live)

Watch “Impending Diabolical Conquest (Live)” official audio here: