JAKETHEHAWK To Release Sophomore Album, ‘To Build A Fire’, In November

Jakethehawk promo
Photo credit: Shannon Kenyon

Pittsburgh’s own ‘Appalachian Desert Rock’ brotherly quartet of JAKETHEHAWK continues to pursue the sky with the announcement of a new full-length album coming in November on Blackseed Records. Their sophomore record, To Build A Fire, comes less than a year after their debut release, ‘Year Of The Hawk‘ last January.

The band shared some insight into creating the new album: “The bones of this album were mostly written on acoustic guitar with the idea that it would give the music a more ‘song focused’ feel.  The title track songs were rewarding, because they contain cohesive musical and thematic journey. To Build a Fire’ is a representation both of where we are as a band and where we want to go musically and texturally.”

To Build A Fire track listing:

  1.  To Build A Fire pt. 1: First, We Kill All the Lawyers
  2. To Build A Fire pt. 2: Parting Glass
  3. To Build A Fire pt. 3: Recluse
  4. To Build A Fire pt. 4: Geotaxis
  5. Carcosa
  6. Holy Water
  7. The Silk Road
  8. Strand

With all music written and performed by JAKETHEHAWK, the album was recorded and engineered by Justin Lober in Pittsburgh, with mastering by James Plotkin at Plotkinworks. The beautiful cover illustration and design is by Joe Mruk of Red Buffalo Illustration.

Set to arrive on November 10, 2018, To Build A Fire will be available via Blackseed Records in physical format on CD, with Digital Download and Streaming through all major outlets (Bandcamp, Spotify, etc.).

Jakethehawk to build a fire