Johansson & Speckmann – From The Mouth Of Madness

Who told old dogs learn no tricks? And also, who told the first impression is the one that matters?

My first impression with Johansson & Speckmann “From The Mouth Of Madness” was not the best. But it took just a few seconds to get in touch with the non-stoppable powerhouse of old school death metal present in “From The Mouth Of Madness.” Johansson & Speckmann prove with “From The Mouth Of Madness” that the subgenre is far from over. There is still a lot to be done concerning to death metal. Songs are short and precise. The message is that it is not necessary a lot of minutes to make a great Metal song. We should thank punk rock music for that. Opposite to many, songs are not fast in “From The Mouth Of Madness.” It is a mid tempo effort most of the time. But the guys really make hell out of the songs. Guitar work is simply remarkable with lots of plot twists and different techniques.

The thing that attracted me most was the excitement in songs like “Remove the Creep” give to us. Death metal can be swing full sometimes even though it is not the real intention. But songs like that makes us bang all around. It really does. The frenzy “Condemned” gives us is just another thing to point out. “From The Mouth Of Madness” is really a catchy album, as catchy as death metal can be, but catchy even so. It is really the kind of album that makes me believe Metal has still many years to come. As their peers, “From The Mouth Of Madness” is a drumming show of technique and power. Drummer Brynjar Helgetun is a master with the sticks. The guy really knows how punch fiercyfully his drum pieces. Take a look at “Heal the Strain” to see what I am talking about.

So guys, Johansson & Speckmann “From The Mouth Of Madness” is a great album for whom is about to get everything old school death metal has to offer. It is such a powerhouse that you will bang all the time.

Johansson & Speckmann “From The Mouth Of Madness” will be released on March 30th via Soulseller Records.

Track Listing:

  1. The Demons Night
  2. Is This Just Virtual?
  3. Remove The Creep
  4. Condemned
  5. Why Fear
  6. Heal The Strain
  7. The Heathen Of The Night
  8. The Fallen Angel
  9. Kill And Kill

Watch “Perpetuate the Lie” official video here: