KERRY KING Celebrates 60th Birthday By Launching ‘From Hell I Rise’ Tour In Tilburg (Video)

Kerry King Tilburg

SLAYER guitarist Kerry King celebrated his 60th birthday by kicking off the European leg of his From Hell I Rise solo tour on Monday night (June 3) at Poppodium 013 in Tilburg, Netherlands.

Similar to the first three U.S. shows he performed with his solo band, the setlist for the Tilburg concert featured SLAYER tracks along with several of the 13 songs from King‘s debut solo album.

The set list was as follows:

01. Where I Reign
02. Trophies Of The Tyrant
03. Toxic
04. Repentless (SLAYER song)
05. Two Fists
06. Tension
07. Everything I Hate About You
08. Chemical Warfare (SLAYER song)
09. Idle Hands
10. Rage
11. Hate Worldwide (SLAYER song)
12. Residue
13. Disciple (SLAYER song)
14. Crucifixation
15. Shrapnel
16. Raining Blood (SLAYER song)
17. Black Magic (SLAYER song)
18. Payback (SLAYER song)
19. From Hell I Rise

During a recent interview with American Musical Supply, King was asked if he plans to include more SLAYER songs in the upcoming live shows with his solo band.

 “Well, no, ’cause these guys — I mean, me and Paul probably know most of it, but these other guys don’t,” King responded.” And I’m not gonna waste their time learning s**t that we may or may not play. In Chicago, we played five or six SLAYER songs and more of this band’s songs. Tonight [at Welcome To Rockville] we have a shorter set. There’s only two SLAYER songs. And I think we yanked a couple of the the K.K. songs too. We’re playing 50 minutes, so it’s probably 10 songs. The SLAYER ones, I’m only playing stuff I wrote or co-wrote. Will I play ‘Angel Of Death’ someday? Absolutely. Will I play ‘War Ensemble’ someday? Absolutely. But for this year, I don’t wanna give anybody ammunition to say, ‘Oh, he’s playing [late SLAYER guitarist] Jeff Hanneman‘s [songs].’ I’m not, ’cause I don’t wanna hear it. “

Kerry added that he might begin incorporating some cover songs into his band’s set as the tour continues.

“Covers, it’s in the mix,” he said. “My spin on it is I want to — I wanna throw in a cover every show, once we get used to it and being out, and I wanna play stuff that people can’t see or hear anymore, like say for instance, ‘Ace Of Spades’. You’re never gonna see MOTÖRHEAD again. So, I think that’s cool to do. Or for instance, songs that bands don’t play anymore, like ‘Killers’ from IRON MAIDEN. I don’t think they’re ever gonna play that again. I don’t think METALLICA is ever gonna play ‘Damage, Inc.’ again. So I wanna do things that actually aren’t just me having fun. I want it to be fun for the fans to where they see it, it’s the only place they can see it.”

King released his debut solo album, From Hell I Rise, on May 17. In addition to King, the album features DEATH ANGEL vocalist Mark Osegueda, longtime SLAYER drummer Paul Bostaph, former HELLYEAH bassist Kyle Sanders, and ex–MACHINE HEAD and ex-VIO-LENCE guitarist Phil Demmel.