KERRY KING Performs At Czech Republic’s ROCK FOR PEOPLE Festival (Video)

Kerry King Rock For People Festival

Below is a fan-filmed video of Kerry King‘s June 15 concert at the Rock For People festival in Hradec Králové, Czech Republic.

Similar to the previous shows he performed with his solo band, the setlist for the Rock For People concert featured SLAYER tracks along with several of the 13 songs from King‘s debut solo album.

Set list for the show was as follows:

  1. Where I Reign
  2. Toxic
  3. Trophies of the Tyrant
  4. Two Fists
  5. Idle Hands
  6. Residue
  7. Disciple (Slayer song)
  8. Crucifixation
  9. Shrapnel
  10. Raining Blood (Slayer song)
  11. Black Magic (Slayer song)
  12. From Hell I Rise

During a recent interview with American Musical SupplyKing was asked if he plans to include more SLAYER songs in the upcoming live shows with his solo band.

 “Well, no, ’cause these guys — I mean, me and Paul probably know most of it, but these other guys don’t,” King responded.” And I’m not gonna waste their time learning s**t that we may or may not play. In Chicago, we played five or six SLAYER songs and more of this band’s songs. Tonight [at Welcome To Rockville] we have a shorter set. There’s only two SLAYER songs. And I think we yanked a couple of the the K.K. songs too. We’re playing 50 minutes, so it’s probably 10 songs. The SLAYER ones, I’m only playing stuff I wrote or co-wrote. Will I play ‘Angel Of Death’ someday? Absolutely. Will I play ‘War Ensemble’ someday? Absolutely. But for this year, I don’t wanna give anybody ammunition to say, ‘Oh, he’s playing [late SLAYER guitarist] Jeff Hanneman‘s [songs].’ I’m not, ’cause I don’t wanna hear it. “

Kerry added that he might begin incorporating some cover songs into his band’s set as the tour continues.

“Covers, it’s in the mix,” he said. “My spin on it is I want to — I wanna throw in a cover every show, once we get used to it and being out, and I wanna play stuff that people can’t see or hear anymore, like say for instance, ‘Ace Of Spades’. You’re never gonna see MOTÖRHEAD again. So, I think that’s cool to do. Or for instance, songs that bands don’t play anymore, like ‘Killers’ from IRON MAIDEN. I don’t think they’re ever gonna play that again. I don’t think METALLICA is ever gonna play ‘Damage, Inc.’ again. So I wanna do things that actually aren’t just me having fun. I want it to be fun for the fans to where they see it, it’s the only place they can see it.”

King released his debut solo album, From Hell I Rise, on May 17. In addition to King, the album features DEATH ANGEL vocalist Mark Osegueda, longtime SLAYER drummer Paul Bostaph, former HELLYEAH bassist Kyle Sanders, and ex–MACHINE HEAD and ex-VIO-LENCE guitarist Phil Demmel.