KORN Frontman Explains The Title Of New Album ‘The Nothing’

Korn 2019

In an interview with Kerrang!, KORN frontman Jonathan Davis discussed the meaning behind the title of band’s upcoming album The Nothing.

He said: “I was struggling with the thing that’s chasing me – that’s always f*cking with me. I tried to give it a name and it just fit. I know it’s from ‘The NeverEnding Story’ – The Nothing was coming to destroy the fairytale land with Atreyu. I love that movie, but it was somewhere in between.

“The Nothing’s not necessarily ‘evil’ evil – it’s a mixture, and I’m all about balance. In my house, I’ve got crosses of Jesus everywhere and [deity] Baphomets everywhere – I’m in the middle, I’m Switzerland.

“I always thought there are two things I know for sure in the universe – there’s a positive and a negative. I tend to be intrigued more by the dark side – I’ve collected a lot of dark things, seen some crazy sh*t – but when all that sh*t went down with Deven [Jonathan‘s estranged wife who died last year at age 39] and my son, it seemed like the powers that be were keeping me from making the record.

“I sound crazy when I talk about it, but one thing after another would happen – my mics would break, stuff at the studio would break, things would happen at home… Whatever it was, it was keeping me from doing what I was doing. It’s always been the case with me.”

KORN will release its new album, The Nothing, on September 13 via Roadrunner/Elektra. The follow-up to 2016’s The Serenity Of Suffering was once again produced by Nick Raskulinecz.

Singer Jonathan Davis commented on the album: “Deep, within our Earth lives an extraordinary force. Very few are aware of the magnitude and significance of this place where good/evil, dark/light, bliss/torment, loss/gain and hope/despair all exist as one — pulling at us every moment of our lives.

“It’s not something we can choose to navigate, but rather an awareness of this ‘presence’ that surrounds us with every breath, as if we are being watched at every moment.

“It’s the place where black and white energies attach themselves to our souls, and shape our emotion, choices, perspective and ultimately our very existence. There is a miraculous and small realm within this vortex and it’s the only place where balance between these dynamic and polarizing forces exists -where the soul finds its refuge. Welcome to… The Nothing.”

The Nothing track listing:

01. The End Begins 
02. Cold 
03. You’ll Never Find Me 
04. The Darkness is Revealing 
05. Idiosyncrasy 
06. The Seduction Of Indulgence 
07. Finally Free 
08. Can You Hear Me 
09. The Ringmaster 
10. Gravity Of Discomfort 
11. H@rd3r 
12. This Loss 
13. Surrender To Failure

The first single from the album, You’ll Never Find Me, is available below.

Korn The Nothing