Korpiklaani – Jylhä Review

First thing that comes to mind while listening to Korpiklaani “Jylhä” is that the album is long, or appears to be very long. Well, there are 13 tracks and more than seventy minutes of music. Yeah, it’s a bit long. I guess we’re not used to have all that recording time anymore.

Korpiklaani’s greatest asset is to have pushed the frontiers of Metal to have it accept violin and accordion as a constant effort to their music and, more importantly, the use of Finish language. It’s not really usual for a band to put it throught the barriers of language. As I’ve been listening to Metal music in many languages for some time I’ve noticed that each language has its own effects on the music. Here, in particular, Jonne Järvelä seems to get harsher. Besides that, from where I’m standing, Metal music has welcomed the use of violins and fiddles, but accordions aren’t that cozy. In some tracks as “Pidot” the use of the accordion gives the song the impression of some French old songs. There are some feels of mockery and debouche in it. Maybe it’s some kind of overreaction, I guess, but I didn’t feel this way while reviewing 2018’s “Kulkija.” To be fair enough, the feeling goes away on following track “Juuret” whose guitar riffing is strong enough to make the impression disappear. I know Korpiklaani have a different proposal to their music that is to mix and combine elements of Lappish/Samish into Metal music. That’s really relevant, if you ask me. Metal has evolved a lot in order to accept this odd contribution. Myself included. Correct me if I’m wrong, but Korpiklaani are one of the top Metal bands that have the violin as main lead instrument.

In despite of everything I wrote up there, Korpiklaani nail it with the two first tracks “Verikoira” and “Niemi” which have the right combination of elements. The sufficient Metal power combined with the sufficient dose of Folk elements. After all this is a Folk Metal band we’re talking about. Korpiklaani’s music sometimes is hard to digest even for Folk Metal fans as I am, but that’s exactly what gives them their unique identity. I wouldn’t dare to suggest them to change a bit. Tracks as “Leväluhta” does sound a bit odd and uncanny, but that’s how things are done. Again, to be fair enough with the band, listening to “Leväluhta” feels like dancing to weird polka feeling the song  brings. Following track “Mylly” follows the same path just a little heavier with more cadenced and haevy guitars.

In “Jylhä” Korpiklaani go on delivering what the fan asks and that means consistent Folk Metal with their native roots.

Korpiklaani “Jylhä” will be released on February 05th via Nuclear Blast Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Verikoira
  2. Niemi
  3. Leväluhta
  4. Mylly
  5. Tuuleton
  6. Sanaton maa
  7. Kiuru
  8. Miero
  9. Pohja
  10. Huolettomat
  11. Anolan aukeat
  12. Pidot
  13. Juuret

Watch “Mylly” official video here: