Listen To New AT THE GATES Song ‘Spectre Of Extinction’

At the Gates 2021
Photo credit: Peter Granberg

Swedish melodic death metal pioneers AT THE GATES are now launching the first single off their upcoming album “The Nightmare Of Being” (Out July 2nd, 2021 via Century Media Records) to enhance today’s album pre-order start.

Check out the album’s epic opening track “Spectre of Extinction” below.

Additionally, look out for the special YouTube premiere of the video for “Spectre of Extinction” today Friday, April 30th at 6 PM CET with chat-participation of AT THE GATES vocalist Tomas Lindberg Redant.

Tomas Lindberg Redant commented about “Spectre of Extinction,” a track which features a guest lead-guitar appearance by KING DIAMOND guitarist Andy La Rocque, and its video clip, which was directed by Patric Ullaeus (ARCH ENEMY, IN FLAMES, DIMMU BORGIR, etc.), as follows: “It is always very hard to choose which song to release to the public first, especially with this album having so many layers and textures. We did feel, however, that this, the opening track of the record, represented the overall feel of the album. It has the musical depths that you would expect from an AT THE GATES track, and still carries that intensity and urgency that we have always tried to get across with our music.

“For the video, it was wonderful to be able to continue the work with the mighty Patric Ullaeus, as he understands our vision with the music and is willing to go all the way to portray the song’s inner dimensions. I think he did that excellently with this one and I’m very proud of the result. The lyrics deal with humanity’s will and how that clashes with our consciousness, and our knowledge of our mortality. Enjoy!”

While main parts for The Nightmare Of Being were recorded in several different Swedish studios (drums at Studio Gröndal with Jens Bogren, guitars and bass with Andy La Rocque at Sonic Train Studio and vocals at Welfare Sounds with Per Stålberg), the album was mixed and mastered at Fascination Street Studios (AMON AMARTHOPETHKREATOR, etc.) by Jens Bogren, who previously worked with AT THE GATES on their 2014 comeback album At War With Reality. The album’s visual concept and album cover was developed by artist Eva Nahon.

The Nightmare Of Being Tracklist:

  1. Spectre of Extinction
  2. The Paradox
  3. The Nightmare of Being
  4. Garden of Cyrus
  5. Touched by the White Hands of Death
  6. The Fall into Time
  7. Cult of Salvation
  8. The Abstract Enthroned
  9. Cosmic Pessimism
  10. Eternal Winter of Reason
At The Gates The Nightmare Of Being
Sign up to receive all latest news and updates from Metal Addicts straight into your inbox!