Lord of Night – Morningstar

The fan must have noticed that I pay very close attention to opening tracks. To they are the invitation card to the album and they sum up all the band has to offer. “Pressage” does a very good in introducing the fan to “Morningstar” which may create some kind of bias to the fan who is more connected to the darker side of Metal. Lord of Light bring a different kind of message in this album. And a kind of music that may not please the most radical heavy metaller. The kind of heavyness here is different than other kinds of Metal. Lord of Light music is to praise. It’s a way of sending a message and reaching the skies.

As an album “Morningstar” is much more near the 1980s Art Rock represented by Yes and the 1970s taken by Kansas. It’s not an Art Rock that follows a classical music path, it is Hard Rock, but with refinement and polish. The fan must pay attention that in this kind of Art Rock the keyboards take the lead as an electronic device, not as an church organ, or piano, or any other instrument. However, there are amazing songs here if the fan doesn’t get biased by the message. The a cappella track “History” is fantastic. I’m still trying to remind where this came from. I guess there is a lot of Yes in it, but I’m not really sure. A song to bring the fan to tears if he takes seriously the message. It’s a pity it’s only one minute and half long. It is worth more. It’s noticeable that Metal and heavier passages in “Morningstar” are here to stress the strong passages of the songs. Heavyness is important, though it has a function in Lord of Light’s music as their Art Rock peers. Take “Candlelight” for instance that goes smoothly with a nice riffing until it reaches the peak by the third minute. The tempo speeds up a bit as well with a more Metal kind of drumming.

I recommend no biases to listen to Lord of Light “Morningstar.” You won’t regret.

P.S.: I know I promised not to do pranks and cranks about the name of bands, but I can’t help it. I don’t know if the band noted but Morningstar is one of the names used by the leader of the hordes of the shadows. But I did get the message. I don’t know if the fans will.

Lord of Light “Morningstar” will be released on March 13th via No Remorse Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Presage
  2. Ballad of the Righteous
  3. History
  4. Candlelight
  5. Morningstar
  6. A Leaden Sky
  7. Typhoon

Watch “Typhoon” lyric video here: