Lord – Undercovers Vol.1 Review

I gave the eye when I received this album to review. “An entire album of covers?” I thought. “It can’t be a good thing” I muttered as a good grumpy old man. “Nah, nah. I won’t” I gave the cold shoulder. However, as everything in this sad and lonely and pathetic little planet changes I decided to give Lord “Undercovers Vol.1” a chance. And you know what? It was one of the best decisions I made recently.

Lord “Undercovers Vol.1” is fun. As fun as a Metal album can be. The selection for the album is a bit ecletic. There are some factions of Metal that are represented here. There are very knownbands and bands that I’ve never heard of – as usual. However, and I repeat however, I would never mix in the same album Iron Maiden and Kylie Minogue, Judas Priest and A-Ha, not even for a joke. But, whatever, what’s done is done. By the names we see here, it’s clear that there is a certain logic applied on the choosing of the songs and this logic is a pop trend one. John Farnham received two songs, for instance. Helloween as well with “I Want out” and “Someone’s Crying.” I don’t if these choices represent the subjective taste of the band members, but it really gives a hint of why the unexpected mix happened.

Ok, than, to the album. The first thing that crosses my mind is that The Police “Message In a Bottle” received received an arrangment that made it an Iron Maidenish track. Really. A tip to Steve Harris and the fold. While Iron Maiden “Judas Be My Guide” received a bunch of choruses that made it very interesting and different. A-Ha “The Sun Always Shines on TV” receives a surprising Power Metal arrangement which makes it possible to be heard. Well, to be completely honest, I don’t know the original – and I pray to God forbid me to know it. The aforementioned “I Want out” is performed alive and it’s flawlessly loyal to its original. The same happens to Queensrÿche “The Whisper.” Maybe, just maybe, Lord respected the songs because they are the band’s most appreciated. I don’t know, just maybe. Ah, by the way, “Of Sins and Shadows” of Symphony X sounds perfect as well.

Ok, some fans may get disappointed with “Undercovers Vol.1,” but I didn’t. It’s a honest and fun album.

Lord “Undercovers Vol.1” will be released on April 02nd via Dominus Records.

Track Listing:

  1. To the Moon and Back (Savage Garden cover)
  2. Judas be my Guide (Iron Maiden cover)
  3. Send Me an Angel (Real Life cover)
  4. Of Sins and Shadows (Symphony X cover)
  5. Message in a Bottle (The Police cover)
  6. Shattered (Pantera cover)
  7. Playing to Win (Little River Band, John Farnham cover)
  8. Someone’s Crying (Helloween cover)
  9. Hard to Live (Harem Scarem cover)
  10. Creeping Death (LIVE) (Metallica cover)
  11. (I Just) Died in Your Arms (Cutting Crew cover)
  12. Reckless (Judas Priest cover)
  13. Silent Jealousy (X Japan cover)
  14. I Want Out (LIVE) (Helloween cover)
  15. The Sun Always Shines on TV (A-ha cover)
  16. The Whisper (Queensryche cover)
  17. Touch the Fire (Icehouse cover)
  18. Wild Child (LIVE) (W.A.S.P. cover)
  19. Break the Ice (John Farnham cover)
  20. Runaway (Bon Jovi cover)
  21. On a Night Like This (Kylie Minogue cover)
  22. Madhouse by Blackened Angel (Anthrax cover)
  23. Night People by Blackened Angel (Dio cover)

Watch “To the Moon and Back (Savage Garden cover)” official video here: