Mad Max – 35

My big hail to Metal veterans of this world! You rule, guys! It is so great to hear news from such an iconic veteran band like Mad Max and its great strentgh and power to not change. Yeah, you read it right “to not change.” In a world where a band has mandatory to change in each album just because, Mad Max’s insistence on not changing is a relief. It’s so good to hear the 1980s finesse again. Such a thrill to hear catchy choruses and screaming guitar solos in tracks like “Beat of the Heart” and its dokkenish feeling. It was bands like Mad Max and many others which made my teen years bearable.

“35” celebrates the 35th Mad Max’s career anniversary. I bet most of our readers haven’t reached this age yet. No problem, dudes, here’s the piece to make you know how good music was made back then. Back then, when the world was milk and honey there were singers who actually could do anything with their voices. Michael Voss is one of them. The dude can still break glasses with his well-tuned voice after thirty-five years of labor. Listen to “Snowdance” and check it out. Tracks like “Thirty 5” really make me shriver due to its classy slow intro and swingful pace. Some might say ‘It’s been done before.’ Yeah, right and the wheel has already been invented. Who cares? I don’t. Delicious sound.

Never forget this, Mad Max are from a time a band had only vocals, guitars, basses, and drums to make some noise. And that was enough. No need for synthetizers, big orchestration, keyboarding, and everything else. Four, five guys tops. It was enough to bring the house down. Okay, sometimes some additional keyboarding was allowed as in the end of “She’s Already Gone.” But bands had to care about the smallest things like drum tones. Listen to the drum tone in “False Dream” and dare to tell me it’s not captivating to say the least.

Well, I don’t know about you, guys, but it’s such a pleasure to me to be part of musical movement that allows bands like Mad Max celebrate their 35th anniversary.

Mad Max “35” will be released on August 10th via Steamhammer / SPV Records.

Track Listing:

  1. The Hutch
  2. Running to Paradise
  3. Beat of the Heart
  4. D.A.M.N.
  5. Snowdance
  6. Thirty 5
  7. Already Gone
  8. False Freedom
  9. Goodbye to You
  10. Rocky Road
  11. Paris Is Burning

Watch “Beat of the Heart” official video here: