MARIANAS REST To Release Second Album ‘Ruins’ In Spring

Marianas Rest
Photo credit: Lassi Karhulahti

The ambassadors of melancholy, MARIANAS REST, returns in April with their second full-length album Ruins. Originating from Kotka, the true metal capital of Finland, MARIANAS REST brings you lead heavy riffs and a mood to slash your wrists to. This all surrounding darkness is topped off with sad melodies.

You can watch music video for first single “Restitution” below.

Timo Virkkala (cello) and INSOMNIUM‘s Niilo Sevänen (reciting Lord Byrons poem) make a significant contribution to the overall hopeless mood of the album. And still, if you really try, maybe you can catch a glimpse of hope, ever escaping sight. 

Teemu Aalto (INSOMNIUMOMNIUM GATHERUM) is the man behind recording, mixing and producing Ruins. The album tells a story of how a mind slowly crumbles: about introversion, putting up mental walls and eventually disappearing inside your own head. The album is released April 26th 2019 through Inverse Records. The album will see the live of day the following day in the legendary heavy metal bar Sam’s Pub in Karhula, Kotka, Finland.

Ruins track listing:

1. Kairos
2. The Spiral
3. Hole in Nothing
4. The Defiant
5. Unsinkable
6. Shadows
7. Restitution
8. Omega

marianas rest ruins
Album cover art by Sonja Hämäläinen