MAYHEM Release New Song Entitled ‘Voces Ab Alta’ From Their Upcoming EP

Mayhem 2021

For their upcoming EP Atavistic Black Disorder / Kommando, the most notorious black metal band have reflected on their influences by covering songs from bands like DISCHARGE, DEAD KENNEDYS, RUDIMENTARY PENI and RAMONES with an impressive bursting and darkened sound.

In addition to the mentioned cover versions, MAYHEM releases a previously unreleased track today called “Voces Ab Alta,” which was recorded during the Daemon session.

The video was done by high the praised artwork and video wizard Costin Chioreanu (GHOST, OPETH, NAPALM DEATH) who impressively captured the atmosphere and the darkness of this performance visually!

The seven-song EP features three original tracks (“Voces Ab Alta,” “Black Glass Communion” and “Everlasting Dying Flame”) as well as covers of classic punk tracks from DISCHARGE (“In Defense Of Our Future”), DEAD KENNEDYS (“Hellnation”), RUDIMENTARY PENI (“Only Death”) and the RAMONES (“Commando”). The band also recruited Billy Messiah and Maniac, who took over vocal performances on two songs.

Vocalist Attila says:”I always had some punk influences. I guess it comes from my childhood when we were constantly looking for more extreme music. That’s how I discovered DEAD KENNEDYSGBHTHE EXPLOITEDSEX PISTOLSU.K. SUBSDISCHARGERUDIMENTARY PENI and so on, in the early ’80s, alongside heavy metal. But then I discovered VENOM. That was a game changer!”

Necrobutcher added: “We got some extra time in the studio recording the Daemon album two years ago, all band members were asked to punch in two cover tracks for some extra material. I chose songs by DEATHSTRIKE (‘The Truth’) and DEATH (‘Evil Dead’) which were both used as the bonus tracks on the album. My other contribution was to bring in two old members because of their obvious connection with punk: Maniac on the DEAD KENNEDYS track and Billy (Messiah) on the DISCHARGE track and some of the others.”

Track listing:

Side A

01. Voces Ab Alta
02. Black Glass Communion
03. Everlasting Dying Flame

Side B

01. In Defense Of Our Future (DISCHARGE cover)
02. Hellnation (DEAD KENNEDYS cover)
03. Only Death (RUDIMENTARY PENI cover)
04. Commando (RAMONES cover)