Megadeth – Dystopia

dystopia  Let me just start off by saying that I’ve never been really into Megadeth meaning that I’ve listened to and respected their music for many, many years, but it’s never really left a lasting mark on me or my music taste. So when I saw the announcement of “Dystopia” I was interested to say in the least, but I wanted to wait until release day to hear anything, and I have to say that’s probably the smartest decision I’ve made all month. From beginning to end, “Dystopia” is a real modern thrash album that really cultivates all the places that Megadeth have been in their legendary career from their ups to their downs, and even with all new members on this album the entity still proves that it’s got plenty of fight left with just the first two tracks alone. This album not only has the fast pace, solid vocals, and intensity that Megadeth is known for, there are also moments spread throughout the record that are truly haunting and a little bit spine chilling for anyone truly being immersed in the music, and that creates a great but subtle change in tone that I just can’t get over how well it was pulled off because it’s nothing like I’ve ever heard from this band. Each track had their own individual strengths whether it be a great theme, awesome chorus, great instrumental demonstrations, or just straight up catchy which shows how much Megadeth are still truly in the game despite what others might have thought after many years of doubt which have hopefully come to an end as of today. With all that being said, I can’t truly say that I’m in love with “Dystopia” but I definitely did enjoy it, without a doubt in my mind. This record proves that Megadeth are still more than worthy of being part of the illustrious Big Four and will continue to be for some time to come, and I firmly believe that this still is no where near the end for this band. If I’m wrong, let Vic Rattlehead strike me down.

You can purchase “Dystopia” via iTunes here, stream the album via Spotify here, and listen to the title track via YouTube below.

Track Listing:

  1. The Threat is Real
  2. Dystopia
  3. Fatal Illusion
  4. Death from Within
  5. Bullet to the Brain
  6. Post-American World
  7. Poisonous Shadows
  8. Look Who’s Talking
  9. Conquer… or Die!
  10. Lying in State
  11. The Emperor
  12. Last Dying Wish
  13. Foreign Policy