Metal Allegiance – Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty

Metal Allegiance started up as an all-star project by the hand of virtuosos Mike Menghi, Testament’s Alex Skolnic, and Megadeth’s Dave Ellefson, and Dream Theater’s Mike Portnoy who joined forces to make an album as a praise to Metal. The outcome was a surprising, and now the guys repeated the experience with “Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty,” another praise to Metal music. With a real army of peers, Metal Allegiance brought us ten Metal bombers which will make you headbang and feel the thrill. An ode to Thrash Metal and all its power.

It would be impossible that with Dave Ellefson, Metal Allegiance didn’t have a strong taste of Megadeth. It would be surprising not to due to the more than thirty years of playing with Megadeth. Nevertheless, Metal Allegiance were able to evolve its own personality. Of course, the guests helped a lot shaping their personality by lending theirs, but one can feel that there is a track kept in all tracks. There are songs where you can identify right away the guests like “Mother of Sin” with the stapler of Overkill’s Bobby Blitz. Following track “Terminal Illusion” with Accept’s Mike Tornillo has a more traditional Metal grip with no surprise. It’s the track, of course, with the most catchy chorus. The vocalist in “King with a Paper Crown” is also no wonder. Johan Hegg does what he does better and leaves no doubt on who is on the best career moment. Alex Skolnich is also shreading a lot in this track. Great interventions that enlighten it even more.

Some tracks as “Liars & Thieves” reminds a lot Testament, it’s also no wonder, but the overall result is a fantastic album. In general, when we put all those stars together, things don’t go easily due to the battle of egos. It doesn’t happen to Metal Allegiance at all. The band’s music flows easily as it should. is an album to please any Thrash Metal afficionado. Well, in fact, not only, any Metal or good music lover.

Metal Allegiance Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty was released on September 07th via Nuclear Blast Records.

Track Listing:

  1. The Accuser (feat. Trevor Strnad)
  2. Bound by Silence (feat. John Bush)
  3. Mother of Sin (feat. Bobby Blitz)
  4. Terminal Illusion (feat. Mark Tornillo)
  5. King with a Paper Crown (feat. Johan Hegg)
  6.  Voodoo of the Godsend (feat. Max Cavalera)
  7. Liars & Thieves (feat. Troy Sanders)
  8. Impulse Control (feat. Mark Osegueda)
  9. Power Drunk Majesty (Part I) (feat. Mark Osegueda)
  10. Power Drunk Majesty (Part II) (feat. Floor Jansen)

Watch “Mother of Sin” music video here: