METALLICA Announces ’72 Seasons’ Album, Releases ‘Lux Æterna’ Music Video

Metallica 2022

METALLICA has finally announced their 12th studio album titled, 72 Seasons which will be available next year on April 14, 2023. The 77-minute long project was produced by Greg Fidelman with METALLICA‘s James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich.

This is the band’s first new material since 2016 and it will be released in formats including 2LP 140g black vinyl and limited-edition variants, CD and digital.

The new METALLICA song, “Lux Aeterna,” is available now as a stream or download, and you can get it instantly if you pre-order the album 72 Seasons. The video for the song, directed by Tim Saccenti, is below.

Speaking on the concept of the album title, Hetfield said: “72 seasons. The first 18 years of our lives that form our true or false selves. The concept that we were told ‘who we are’ by our parents. A possible pigeonholing around what kind of personality we are. I think the most interesting part of this is the continued study of those core beliefs and how it affects our perception of the world today. Much of our adult experience is reenactment or reaction to these childhood experiences. Prisoners of childhood or breaking free of those bondages we carry.”

72 Seasons is:

01. 72 Seasons
02. Shadows Follow
03. Screaming Suicide
04. Sleepwalk My Life Away
05. You Must Burn!
06. Lux Æterna
07. Crown Of Barbed Wire
08. Chasing Light
09. If Darkness Had A Son
10. Too Far Gone?
11. Room Of Mirrors
12. Inamorata

Metallica 72 Seasons