METALLICA Announces ‘Rye The Lightning’ Whiskey

Metallica Rye The Lightning

METALLICA‘s award-winning Blackened American Whiskey has announced its latest limited-edition Blackened Kentucky Straight Rye Double Cask Finished Whiskey dubbed Rye The Lightning, a play on words inspired by METALLICA‘s six-times-platinum sophomore album Ride The Lightning. This expression is double finished in Madeira and rum casks and undergoes the proprietary Black Noise sonic-enhancement process.

As with previous Blackened Whiskeys, Rye the Lightning was made using “Black Noise,” a method that involves playing METALLICA songs during the distilling process. Apparently, the low-frequency sound waves of the band’s music helps “shape the flavor” of the whiskey.

“The vibe from the crowd at the first Orion Music + More festival was electrifying,” bassist Robert Trujillo says, “and it’s really cool that we get to capture that energy in this release. We’ve used a few live songs in our playlists before, but never a full live playlist. So to be able to incorporate our fans in the Blackened journey and have them be a part of the whiskey-making process is really unique, and makes this a true collaboration.”

Fans interested in hearing this rare performance of “Ride The Lightning” from back to front can now enjoy a newly remixed version exclusively through Blackened. A copy can be downloaded by scanning a QR code found at retail, following @blackenedamericanwhiskey on socials, or visiting for more information.

The 10-track Black Noise playlist includes:

* Ride The Lightning Intro
* The Call Of Ktulu
* Creeping Death
* Escape (Live Debut)
* Trapped Under Ice
* Kirk Solo
* Fade To Black
* For Whom The Bell Tolls
* Ride The Lightning
* Fight Fire With Fire