Molly Hatchet – Battleground

Here’s an album that any metaller should listen without any genre or music prejudice just due to the fantastic and well-played music herein. Molly Hatchet’s “Battleground” is an alive album that makes any person who likes heavy music proud. No, Molly Hatchet’s “Battleground” isn’t Metal, despite the barbarian and the axe plus the name, but it’s Metal related as they play one of the genres that helped establishing Metal as a genre and because there are many Metal artists that love the genre. Zakk Wylde is just the most famous of them. In fact, the name Molly Hatchet is very Metal related. Legend says that she was a prostitute who allegedly mutilated and decapitated her clients. More Metal than this?

If you’re not aware of them – no, you’re obliged to know any Hard Rock, Rock, or Metal band ever to be considered a fan, believe me – the kind of music Molly Hatchet present in “Battleground” is a mix of Hard Rock plus Southern Rock and Country. Sometimes one steps into the other or is melded within. What happens first. Some tracks even have a Metal taste in some parts as in the beginning of “Flirtin’ With Disaster”Molly Hatchet’s biggest hit -, with its guitar riffs. But the prominent piano leaves no doubt about which genre they are really in. However, with some good sense and love to heavy music, the track turns into something very nice. Opening track “Bounty Hunter” sounds pretty heavy too without the prominent piano with big and shiny guitars. The harmonica that introduces “Whiskey Man” is also outstanding. As I said before, it’s a pitty that the instrument was left behind by Metal bands.

As any live albums, “Battleground” is a kind of hit parade throughout the almost fifty – I said fifty? – years of career. Well, the album should get more respect just because of it. As any live albums, and not surprisingly, the versions herein are heavier than the studio ones. Despite the age, Molly Hatchet made “Battleground” sound pretty energetic and adrenalized as all features from their genre must be.

If you think hard you’ll find touches of Molly Hatchet in many Metal bands that you like. And I mean not only in their music, but also in the integrants who may love the band and their music. That’s what I mean about respect. When a band is really good fans from all genres may like it. That happens with Molly Hatchet. From where I’m standing it’s well-deserved.

Molly Hatchet “Battleground” will be released in November 29th via Steamhammer / SPV.

Track Listing:


  1. Bounty Hunter
  2. Whiskey Man
  3. Why Won’t You Take Me Home
  4. Son of the South
  5. American Pride
  6. Edge of Sundown
  7. Fall of the Peacemakers
  8. Devil’s Canyon
  9. One Man’s Pleasure
  10. The Creeper
  11. In the Darkness of the Night


  1. Justice
  2. As Heaven Is Forever
  3. I’m Gonna Live ‘Til I Die
  4. Beatin’ the Odds
  5. Jukin’ City
  6. Dreams I’ll Never See
  7. The Journey
  8. Flirtin’ With Disaster

Watch “Whiskey Man” official lyric video here: