NEONFLY Launch New Video ‘The Future, Tonight’ Feat. BJÖRN STRID Of SOILWORK

NEONFLY release their hotly anticipated album, titled The Future, Tonight, on June 18th 2021 via Germany’s up and coming metal institution, Noble Demon. The band unleashed a new music video “The Future, Tonight” featuring Björn Speed Strid from SOILWORK. Check out the video below!

NEONFLY, formed in 2008 as the brainchild of guitarist and composer Frederick Thunder, took the heavy music scene by storm, releasing two highly acclaimed full-length records and an unforgettable debut EP to date. On their upcoming third album, NEONFLY shows no signs of slowing down: The Future, Tonight not only features 10 modern rock anthems, heavy yet catchy allied with hard-hitting riffs, big metal grooves and decidedly socially conscious lyrics, but also signposts a new musical direction and a new creative era for the band, as guitarist Frederick Thunder states:

We’ve evolved a lot since our last album, and it was extremely important for us to move forward both musically and artistically, and to create something unique and contemporary that would define NEONFLY’s sound and stand out from everything else out there.”

With a guest appearance by none other than legendary Björn Strid of the mighty SOILWORK, who has nothing but praise for the band: “I really enjoyed recording vocals for this song. Great players with tons of hooks and melancholic melodies. The song has some pretty unexpected turns as well and is just as epic as it rocks.

The band continues: “In the video we wanted to show this metaphorically by having the 4 band members blindfolded and tied to chairs in front of an interrogator who is abusing them psychologically and threatening them with physical violence” the band explains and continues: The interrogator represents mental health and depression issues, while the band members struggling and trying to stand up to him, represent the inner struggle that people have against those demons. In the video, we wanted to include this as part of a wider narrative, shot cinematically like a short movie. Towards the end of the video, there is a plot twist, as we see the interrogator blindfolded sitting on a chair on his own, and replaying the previous sequence entirely on his own, implying that he’d been the one sitting alone all this time struggling with his inner demons.

Furthermore Frederick Thunder adds about the track:
The Future, Tonight’ is one of my favourite tracks on the album. I think it really showcases where we are at today. The song is a perfect example of that, and we are truly honoured to have Björn “Speed” Strid -an artist that I deeply respect and admire- as a guest singer on the track. It’s also a testament to our commitment to keep moving forward and finding new and exciting forms of artistic expression.

“The Future, Tonight” Tracklisting:
1. This World Is Burning
2. Last Of Our Kind
3. Flesh And Blood
4. The Future, Tonight (feat. Björn Strid)
5. Beating Hearts
6. More Than A Lifetime
7. Another Eden (feat. Kaan Tasan)
8. Steal The World (feat. Kaan Tasan)
9. Final Warning
10. The Things We Left Behind (And The Things That Slipped Away)

The Future, Tonight” was produced by Grammy award nominated producer Romesh Dodangoda (Bring Me The Horizon, Motörhead), with keyboards and orchestra arranged by Miro Rodenberg (Avantasia, Kamelot).