NIGHTWISH Has Completed Recording New Album, To Be Released In Spring 2020


In a new interview with FaceCulture, Floor Jansen has confirmed that NIGHTWISH has completed recording its new album for a spring 2020 release via Nuclear Blast Records.

“I think we’ve made a very cool new album. I’m very, very happy with it,” she said. “Already with the first notes, I [was, like], ‘Oh, yeah. There we go.’ It’s as much NIGHTWISH thing you might expect from us as, ‘Wow! What’s this now? What’s happening?’ I can’t really say too much about it, because there are a couple of things that are the same, a coupe of things that are different.

“But all I can say is I’m very happy with it and I’m very excited about it,” Jansen continued..” “And I think people that already knew NIGHTWISH will really enjoy this. And maybe the new people in the Netherlands [who discovered me through the Dutch reality TV show ‘Beste Zangers’] will say, ‘Hey, now that we know who Floor Jansen is, okay, now she’s coming with a new album. [I’m] very excited to give it a shot.'”

She continued: “I do things that I didn’t think I could do. When the first ideas came in, I was, like, ‘Eh, okay, I need to study this.’ [Laughs] [I was] really challenged. And it’s not just that I need to challenge my band members — it’s just whatever comes out comes out. And then we’re gonna see if we can do it or not and how we can make it sound good.

“That’s also where the band really comes in and where I come in, where my creativity comes in. That’s a very enjoyable process. [We go into] rehearsals [for] weeks and weeks and we go through everything — really try to set everything — and then we go and record it. And that’s a really great way of working. It worked great for Endless Forms Most Beautiful, and we did the same now.”

NIGHTWISH‘ latest album Endless Forms Most Beautiful was released on March 27, 2015 in Argentina and most of Europe, March 30 in the UK, and March 31 in the US.

The album is the band’s first featuring singer Floor Jansen and the first with Troy Donockley as a full-time member. It was also the first without drummer Jukka Nevalainen, who took a break from the band due to severe insomnia. Drumming was by Kai Hahto of WINTERSUN and SWALLOW THE SUN. The album includes only five NIGHTWISH members, despite its being their first album release as a sextet.