Nightwish – Human.:||: Nature

No, no, the title track isn’t written wrong. It is this way. I checked in all the material I received. Believe me. Yeah, I stranged it too.

I met Nightwish back there in the distant year of 1999. I guess I told here before that there was a magazine that distributed a CD with a compilation of bands.  A very dear friend of mine made a cassete with a compilation of the bands he thought I would appreciate. Dear friends give you presents; the dearest teach you new amazing bands. There was the time when I met sonancies that I would never imagined possible. Nightwish were one of them. After I became a fan of the band. Ah, when I say fan don’t think I know it all from them as all their records, all the songs and musicians, thinks like that. I like them. That’s all.

Okay, when it comes to Symphonic Metal, Nightwish aren’t just one reference, they are the reference. Anything the band does reflects on other bands, no doubt about it. Well, first of all, I have to say that “Human.:||: Nature” is no groundbreaking album even though there are 17 tracks in it. Well, seventeen as a figure of language because tracks from 10 to 17 are parts of “All The Works Which Adorn The World,” there is a name for this in classical music, but I swear I don’t remember. The band here tried a more classical approach with more symphonic elements. And when I say more symphonic elements, belive me, more symphonic elements. There movements that really reminds Emerson, Lake and Palmer, if you know what I mean. Is that bad? For me, no, not at all and I guess the same for the fans of the band and Symphonic Metal. “Human.:||: Nature” is a regular Nightwish album. I guess the band tried a more reflexive and introspective approach contrasting the real simple name of the songs – they have no more than one word, exception for “How’s the Heart” and “Quiet as the Snow” – with the complex and full of parts songwriting exploring all the sonancies and mooding classical music offers.

Turning the page, I have to say that Floor Jansen, as usual, shows all her singing repertoire as a fine and more than capable singer. The girl’s voice is real great, my child of the night. Of course, some fans will miss Tarja, but that’s okay. That’s life. As I said before, “Human.:||: Nature” is no groundbreaking album for the best and for the worst. It’s not really tasteless, but it misses something. And I say that as a fan.

Nightwish “Human.:||: Nature” was released on April 10th via Nuclear Blast.

Track Listing:

  1. Music
  2. Noise
  3. Shoemaker
  4. Harvest
  5. Pan
  6. How’s the Heart
  7. Procession
  8. Tribal
  9. Endlessness
  10. Vista
  11. The Blue
  12. The Green
  13. Moors
  14. Aurorae
  15. Quiet as the Snow
  16. Anthropocene
  17. Ad Astra 4

Watch “Music” official lyric video here: